Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Phil
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is my first year growing Hot peppers. Nice and easy way to use up several peppers at one time. I used red ripe Jalapeno's from my garden and the sauce turned out great. This is a great base recipe, easily altered to one's own tastes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Enjoyed recipie, and all the comments! I put a spin on this recipie based on what was in the Garden. in 2-3 qt Pot; I simmered 3 Carrots-chopped (colour and sweet), 1 large beet-chopped (Color and sweet) with some water (eough to cover veggies-but no more), and 1 TBS Wondra (thickner-as needed), and some cracked malted barley (brew day-thickner). Pinch of Tumeric and Cumin (Preservative and color). Basically tried to create a thick sweet Bright color base. when I was happy, added 1 TBS Sea salt, 1/4 cup vinagar, 1 TBS lemon juice (acid caning process-Rule 2 TBS per quart). - Sauted with oil; 2 cups de-seeded Jalapeno, chopped (Red), with three schotch bonnette pepper-de seeded ( heat and bright color), and three large garlic bulbs. Sauted until moisture was starting to reduce, and smell enhanced. - I would have added Cilantro but the wife got it first. - Sanitized small mason jars, and filled Hot. Lids sealed when cooled. - I could not stop eating the left over sauce from the PAN, and the colour was awsome!!. Please give us some more comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars for a couple of reasons. First, because it's so darn easy to make. Second, because anything THIS fiery couldn't be rated a bit less. I used Jalapenos from my garden, a good mix of green and red peppers that we didn't gut at all. My sauce ended up being an orange color. After reading most of the reviews, I opted to use half the amount of vinegar. Glad I did. I made a triple batch, put it in half pint jars, then in a hot water bath for 15 minutes and I'm excited to see how it tastes after letting it rest a bit. Cooking it took our breath away. It was a sneeze/cough/sniffle fit while we were making it but a really exciting experiment. Our little tastes samples left our tongues on fire and we're looking forward to really putting this yummy, super hot sauce to the test on some of our much too macho friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Wonderful! I made a quadruple batch with a ton of peppers. Added 3 t. Sugar. We love it. Great on pizza and fish so far. Think it will be great on just about anything. Next yr. I will plant more jalapeños so I can make more of this sauce. I did not seed the peppers, the sauce is hot and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Not bad but probably won't make again. I used an immersion blender in place of the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I increased the serving quantity to 96 and after reading the online remarks about vinegar being over powering, I cut the vinegar suggestion in half and added one cup of sugar. My whole family loved this easy to make hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I gave this 4 stars since I changed the vinegar. I added 2 habanero pepper to the mix for a little more heat and I did follow the advice to cut the vinegar to 1/2 a cup. THis was wonderful. We will be making this in the future. Perfect on chicken wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
this is a good recipe. my boyfriend & i made batch after batch of this stuff last summer & of course started experimenting with it. we would add habaneros and cayennes & use beer instead of water. freakin awesome. we have so many peppers grow in the backyard in the summer, hot sauce is ideal to use them all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Reduced the vinegar to 1/3 cup and added two packs of Splenda and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Boyfriend loves this sauce. Uses up lots of peppers from the garden, too. I put in large squeeze bottle and it stays very well in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States