Jalapeno Green Onion Ale Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I only made 2 changes, did not have green onions so left that out and used 4 tsp. baking powder instead of 1 tsp. soda 1 tsp. powder. This one I will definitely make again. The beer I used was Shock Top Belgian White.....love the flavor that the beer adds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I used an egg substitute, vegan buttermilk (almond milk & vinegar), and an IPA. I may have also dumped a little vegan cheddar into the mix with some oregano and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Loved this. Moist, tender, full of flavor, and adding some finely chopped red bell pepper made it pretty to boot. I don't care for sweet corn bread, so using just two tablespoons of sugar rather than 1/3 cup was just right. Can't say I would have enjoyed this nearly as much had I used that much sugar. The size of the loaf pan wasn't specified - I used an 8x4," baking about 27 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Didn't have jalapeno on hand so used thai green chilis, seeded. What a great recipe, so delicious. I'll make this one again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
We thought this was great! Made as written and would not change a thing. Loved the kick from the jalapeno (I did seed it b/c it was super hot), and the light onion and beer flavor. I made this to go w/ soup, but it would def be best w/ a nice big bowl of chili. I will be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made it exactly as is with no changes and it was awesome! Actually I take that back..I didn't have buttermilk on hand so I soured some regular milk with vinegar which is always a great substitute when you run out of buttermilk. The cornbread was a little sweet but not too sweet & a little spicy but not too spicy. The balance was perfect. I made this to go with chili and it was a great combo together. I will definitely make again & will not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Moist and flavorful. Goes great with chili. Spread on a little butter delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
We enjoyed this corn bread served with 'Pork and Black Bean Stew' from AR. I made a half batch and baked it in a casserole dish in the toaster oven. My jalapeños had turned red, so they were warm but not as warm as a green one would have been. A tasty corn bread that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Delicious!! We mad this with some homemade chicken chili and it was the bomb. We also added some mild roasted red peppers and sprinkled a little grated cheddar across the top. Wish I'd doubled the batch---It was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Really, really good. I made a double batch so my family could munch on it for a few days, and the jalapeños and green onion completely lost their flavor by the next day...it just tasted like corn bread. It was great the day of though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States