Jalapeno-Garlic-Onion Cheeseburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Delicious! I made half of this recipe, and I added about 1/4 teaspoon each of cumin and chili powder along with a dash of salt for flavor and an egg to hold it together. I did cook the burgers in a skillet, but I imagine these are amazing on the grill! I didn't have any pepper jack, so I used colby jack instead, and served on toasted 9-grain ciabatta bread. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good simple recipe only one variation I made was I did not have pepperjack cheese so I used American cheese still just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatd22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I liked this burger. I added an extra jalapeno (with seeds) and some salt and pepper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
As is the recipe lacked flavor, which is why I only gave it a 3. To pump up the flavor I doubled the amount of onion, then sauteed the onion and garlic till caramel colored, added 1 TBSP of freshly ground black pepper and 1 tsp salt. I used diced pickled jalapenos instead of fresh. I skipped the cheese and I missed it. Next time I think I will try extra sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was okay. I read reviews that it could be bland, so I followed another review to add a teaspoon of Montreal Steak Seasoning. That was to the halved recipe so I thought it'd be extra flavorful. I also left the seeds in the jalapeno for spice, and made guacamole to top it. It was unfortunately still bland. I'll stick with the Tex-Mex Cajun Burger from this site. It has the same base as this burger, but the Cajun seasoning makes it outrageous. Thanks for the recipe - it's a good basic burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Not sure if I should be rating or not since I deviated from the original recipe. I didn't have fresh jalapeno so I used canned. I should have added more though, not spicy enough with the canned. Also only used one clove of garlic, and added about half a tsp of mccormick hamburger grill seasoning, salt and peppered the outside, and served on grilled texas toast with some grilled onions. I think with the fresh jalapenos and a little extra salt, these would have been perfect. I did add an egg to make sure it didn't fall apart on the grill as well as a small toss of bread crumbs to soak up some of the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Delicious! Tasty with a bit of a kick. If you don't like onions or spicy stuff go for a different burger, but if you do these are just right. You can adjust the amount of peppers, just don't overdo the onions or the burgers won't stay together well. Great on whole wheat buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was dee-licious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Ohhh these were good....I'm a fire-breathing native Texan so I love this spicy stuff. Awesome on toasted buns with a big spoonful of guacamole. I did add a teaspoon of Montreal steak blend just to balance the flavors a little and a good shake of Frank's hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Bronco Burger

Here’s a spicy, manly man’s burger that’s perfect for tailgating.

Meatball Grinder

This Italian meatball sandwich is hefty and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States