Jalapeno Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
we can't get enough of this cornbread! it was perfect the way it was, but my preference is a little firmer (mine came out a little quiche like). I also wanted to make it slightly less caloricly dense... my tweaks: upped cornmeal to 1.5 cup, lowered corn oil to 1/3 cup, omitted cheese, used only 1tbsp butter in castiron pan. it's a hit with everyone who's tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I really (I mean REALLY) wanted to like this recipe; I love cornbread and jalapenos but I must say that I was very disappointed... It didn't taste bad but it was missing "something". I will probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made it with Jiffy Corn Meal, used 3 boxes, and skipped the corn oil, salt, baking soda, and buttermilk,instead used a cup of regular milk. just because I had it in hand, came out perfect, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Cordova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I followed this recipe pretty closely and it was a disaster. Most of the liquid sank to the bottom while baking. What did I do wrong? I found the batter to be considerably more runny than most cornbread batters. Not enough cornmeal? Also, I found it to be too salty. Maybe 1/2 the prescribed amount of salt would've been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by raypix813
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was my first attempt at any type of corn bread. It was a great success. Since it was my first try, I stuck to the recipe, with just a little extra butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This recipe is nothing like traditional corn bread. IT DOES NOT HAVE A BREAD CONSISTENCY. It bakes up like a quiche with lots of cornmeal. It very dense and somewhat oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
So moist with a crisp buttery edge. No spice from the jalapeños even though I left in the seeds. Will try some cayenne next time. I just loved how easy this was and everyone liked the flavor and texture. Will save this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I ALWAYS use All Recipes for my meals, but have never reviewed anything. All I can say about this corn bread recipe is WOW! I made this along with a chili recipe for a family gathering a few weeks ago. My only regret? not doubling the recipe so everyone could have seconds. I used one jalapeno for the group, as to not scare them away, but the second time for my husband and myself I used the two the recipe called for. It was amazing. Very happy I found this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This was good, I made mini muffins using a large melon baller to fill the cups works perfectly. Bake for 12 min. Next time I will double the jalapeño
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
it took much longer in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States