Jalapeno Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I actually really liked this. I doubles the jalepenos like suggested. Also, I cooked the chicken covered with tin foil so it didn't dry out. Also, I used a ton of the rub and did not bast my pieces (boneless skinless). I do not own a baster!! I just flipped them half way through and that seemed to do the trick. Also, I cooked just till not pink, not the full extra 30 minutes...probably more like 15 and then 20. Over all good. I made it with Lime, Ginger Jalepeno Soup and Sweet and Sour green beans. Both from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I used boneless/skinless breasts, rubbed them with the spices, and then baked them IN the liquid. I also just improvised the liquid; 2 cups chix broth, about 1/3 cup honey, 1 lime, and 1/2 jalapeno. I'd like to try it again without the rub. I found the cinammon distracting. But overall, no complaints. I will just have to experiment with the recipe a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Usually when the first word of a recipe is an ingredient it would seem that it would be the most distinctive flavor in the recipe. To me this was "cinnamon chicken". However it was good but next time I will read the reviews first. If I did I would have halved the cinnamon and probably added at least 5 jalapeno peppers. It would also be much better if it the skin was removed from the chicken first to really bring out the flavor. I will make it again but I will do the above changes next time and use boneless skinless chicken breasts. I give it 4 stars and not 3 because it wasn't a bad combination of ingredients just needed some tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I gave this 4 stars although Im not sure I will make it again. I dont quite get why its called jalepeno chicken cuz mine didnt have much jalepeno flavor. I halved the amount of cinammon and when it was cooking thats all I smelled and it kind of freaked me out but when we ate it it really had a nice flavor and the cinammon wasnt over powering at all. I definatly reccommend that you try it but Id change the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Really tasty, really easy! Works well with chicken breasts. I only used a pinch of cinnamon in the rub, like other reviewers had suggested. I browned the chicken in a pan then placed it in the oven for a few minutes while preparing the sauce. I then poured the sauce in with the chicken rather than basting. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I used half the recipe for two chicken breast and add twice as much jalapeno. It was spicy but not hot. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I was uncertain about the combination on ingrediants but this turned out very good. I used half of the cinnamon called for. I thought it was the right amount. I also used more jalapeno pepper because my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
If you like very exotic tasting things, this might be the dish for you. The heat was good, but the flavor was strange. As another reviewer noted, the cinnamon adds an odd flavor to the chicken. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This recipe was wonderful! My picky husband's comment after his first bite was, "Very, very tasty!". After he finished the meal he said that was one of the best things I have made in a while and that we should have it again! I will definitely add this to my permanent rotation! The dish was spicy yet sweet. A really nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Hmmmmmm. What can I say. My husband thought it was good but I thought it was a little weird. Make sure that the chicken covers the whole pan or use a smaller pan -- the juices dried up and burned in the pan where there was no chicken. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States