Jalapeno Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
OH MY GOD this was sooooo good! I was weary because of the cinnamon and then the separate sauce with chicken broth, lime, and honey but seriously this was the best flavour I've ever tasted. I made this chicken into chicken fajitas so I sliced 4 chicken breasts and cooked the strips in a pan on the stove - browned the chicken quickly in some olive oil after adding the dry rub, and then added the sauce and peppers and let the sauce thicken until it was all cooked. Put extra jalapenos and minced garlic in the sauce while simmering and I used both chili powder and a whole whack of cayenne pepper in the dry rub to satisfy the spicy taste in my house - the chicken and peppers were AMAZING and tasted soooo good on fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
so easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Super fantastic! Since I wanted to grill the chicken, I marinated bone-in breasts with all of the rub and 1/2 of the basting liquid, reserving the other 1/2 to baste while grilling. The result ~ tender flavorful chicken thanks to the lime juice and all of the spices; a caramelized skin due to the honey and a burst of heat from the jalapeno. The usage of cinnamon in an otherwise savory dish is extraordinary... smelled heavenly while on the grill... and tasted even better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Yummy chicken with great flavour! I used 2 bone in skinless breasts, so cut the rub in half, using chipotle chili instead of regular chili powder. I also used the full amount of the 'sauce', but upped the jalapeno to one whole instead of only the half called for as we really enjoy spicy. Will make again for sure, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I'm cooking this right now and I can tell it is going to be soooo good. It smells wonderful!!! The only thing I did differently was that I cooked it on the stovetop instead of in the oven. i tossed in some sliced green pepper and onion to cook with the chicken halfway through. I took another reviewers advice and made rice with some of the extra liquid because it really didnt need that much. The only thing I changed about the ingredients is that I used 1 tsp Chili powder and 1 tsp Cayenne. Otherwise I left it the same. oh, and I used boneless skinless chix breasts (2 large). I made some extra seasoning to sprinkle on the veggies and put a pinch in the rice too. cook chix on low heat on the stove top so it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I did change the way I cooked it but kept the seasonings and marinade as is and the combination is amazing. I love the cinnamon even though I was weary of it. Like others, I browned the chicken and then poured liquid mix in to simmer on low. Sauce is great over rice. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was really interesting. The cinnamon on the chicken was really cool. It ended up tasting a bit like an Indian meal. I simplified the recipe by using the ingredients as a marinade and then baking it. Next time I will use alot more spice - this was not a hot dish at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Loved it!! I only had canned jalepenos on hand, but it seemed fine. Seared chicken on both sides in fry pan, lowered the heat, added the broth mix and simmered on low heat, covered until chicken cooked through. Added a wee bit of cornstarch right at the end to thicken the sauce, and served it over rice. Delicious!! We both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I only had chicken breasts (boneless, skinless) and followed a rater's review that the chicken was sauteed in some butter and the sauce was added to the covered pan. It was very, very moist chicken and very flavorful. DH and I concluded that we like the seasonings and spice, but next time we will cut the cinnamon from 2 teaspoons down to 1 (neither of us really like that strong of a cinnamon taste). Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was delicious! The chicken was moist & bursting with flavor! I substituted the 2tsp of Chili powder with 1tsp of Chili Powder & 1tsp of Cayenne pepper. I used an entire jalapeno for extra spice. I also doubled the chicken broth/honey marinade and used 1C. of it to serve as the liquid for Instant Rice. This really tied the meal together! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConJessTon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States