Jalapeno Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts. Used cumin seeds, b/c I didn't have ground cumin. Hubby liked this better than I did. I cooked spaghetti noodles in chicken broth and served the chicken over the noodles. That was good - Next time I make this, I will use less cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Very good recipe! My modifications: I used 2 lb (about 6) skinless thighs; rubbed about 1/2 the spice mixture (cut cinnamon to 1 tsp, added 1/2 tsp cayenne powder). For sauce: 1.5 cup broth, 2 jalapeno peppers for extra kick, 2 limes, honey to taste, thickened with some cornstarch & water. I baked the chicken uncovered as directed for about 10 minutes, then started basting with sauce (reserved some sauce for rice) & placed a piece of foil over the chicken to prevent drying out. I basted every 5 minutes. Forgot how long I cooked the chicken, but definitely not 30 minutes, or else it would've been too dry. Sprinkled with chopped cilantro & served over white jasmine rice and a veggie. Reserved sauce is great over rice or veggies. For ease, I mixed spices in a small glass jar & punched several holes in the lid so I can shake the spices evenly over the chicken. I now have 1/2 the spices left for another night's dinner - definitely suggest you try this recipe. Very interesting, earthy, spicy warm flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCEVITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
06/19/2011 - I just made this again and we LOVE this!!! Anyone who likes jalapenos or chilies of any kind will love this. My comments remain the same - I still had to use cornstach to thicken the sauce. I love this website and the tips and suggestions of other reviewers. I had planned to make this since I knew I needed a quick meal and it sounded easy. I picked up Chinese white rice on the way home to have one less thing to do and I planned to use some of the sauce on the rice so I doubled the amount of sauce. I'm glad I did, I needed to use some of that to baste with (I'll always double the sauce from here on). Like others, my sauce would not thicken so I used another reviewers suggestion and used the cornstarch and water (thank you). I too used the whole Jalapeno pepper. I served it with canned Mexican corn. It was a DELICIOUS and QUICK meal. It's a keeper - thank you submitter and reviewers for your suggestions. Keeps sharing those tips and/or suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
This chicken was interesting. It was met with raves at my dinner party when it was served, but I had mixed feelings. The cinnamon was too overpowering and wiped out the earthy flavors of the cumin and chili powder. I personally like it quite spicy so I think I might tweak this a little next time with more red pepper and no cinnamon. The honey, on my opinion, will add just the sweetness needed for the chicken to be outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
This had a great flavor. It didn't seem spicy at all and I would add more spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
This is definitely a KEEPER! Not only is it beautiful coming out of the oven - it is absolutely delicious. The only "change" I made was to put a whole jalapeno in the recipe - it's NOT to hot and the jalapeno adds that touch of spice that brings the whole recipe together. We tried it out on company and it got rave reviews! No doubt you could use this with just chicken breasts, but the flavor is something I've never tasted before. Do NOT be afraid of experimenting on friends - it will be a hit! I think that this recipe would be great with pork as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I had a friend over for dinner when I made this and it came out great! Chicken was moist and tasty. Sauce did not thicken, I even let it cook down some. I'm making it again tonight and will try the suggestion of cornstarch and water. I also increased the jalapeno to one whole. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Budd Lake, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I was skeptical with so much cinammon, but stuck to the recipe anyway. It was fantastic! Everyone loved it,even my little ones (I only used 1/2 a jalapeno pepper, deseeded). It was a bit dry because I used skinless chicken breasts, so I would suggest cooking in an oven bag to keep chicken moist. I also lowered the temperature to 350 to try and retain some moisture. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for such a unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Excellent compliment of flavors. My sauce didn't thicken very well so I used a touch of corn starch (about 1 tsp in about 2 tbl water). Will use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
This recipe was very tasty, it was rich and flavorful. To make it lower in fat, we used boneless, skinnless chicken breast and cooked the chicken in the broth when it had boiled down a bit. We put the rub on the chicken in a zippered bag to make it even easier to make. I can imagine this would be great chicken to use in Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States