Jalapeno Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2000
it's a great one my husband really loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Outrageously good! I cut the recipe in half but still added 1/2 cup (heaping) minced jalapenos (seeds in), and used some cubed cheese as well. Made large rolls and YUM...I work at a Tex-Mex joint and my co-workers loved it too! Quite a bit of heat but easily mellowed by seeding/cutting back on peppers. Thanks much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
THIS WAS MY FIRST REVIEW ON THIS RECIPE: A friend of mine made this bread & it was absolutly excellant. I couldn't wait to try it, since I have an over abundancy of Jalapenos. I followed the recipe, but I used "hot" water & it didn't rise at all. After failing twice w/ the recipe I got on the web & checked out the ratings. I also saw where someone else made it w/ no luck in the bread rising. Next time I will use warm water instead. Hopefully that will take care of the problem. MY SECOND REVIEW: There are NOT enough stars on here for this one. It turned out absolutly wonderful the third time (3X's a charm I guess). I used "WARM" water this time instead of "HOT" & what a difference it made. It rised!!!!!! Anyone thinking of making this wonderful bread, please do it is very tasty w/ just the right "SPICE".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is really good bread. If your water temperature is not over 105, it will rise beautifully. I always check the tempature of my water with a thermometer just to be sure. I baked two loaves in pans and baked the third on my pizza stone. All the loaves were great, but the one cooked on the pizza stone was beautiful - thanks to the other reveiwer who suggested this method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I love jalapeno cheese bread and this was very good. I usually make it one loaf at time though, as I like it best hot from the oven. To pep it up a little I also add about 1/4 tsp of tabasco sauce to the dough with the 2nd half of the liquid mixture. I also really like this with very course chopped jalapenos as well as with extra sharp cheese, cut into little cubes (about a 1/4 inch or so). It makes cheese pockets. Oh, and I like to shape this into a long loaf, brush with egg white and a little water and bake on a greased cookie sheet. The crust is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Okay, when the recipe says to get out the bubbles . . .do it, or you will have holes in your bread. I had to laugh when bf cut into the bread and started complaining. It's all my fault, of course. The recipe warns you! And I used hot jalapenos, which is a bit too hot for me. But otherwise, delicious! Bf really liked it despite the holes and heat. And since the holes and the heat are all my fault, I'm still giving it a 5. I wanted to use it in my bread machine, so I scaled the recipe to 12 servings. But I need to add more water, because it didn't go together well enough (I didn't add the cheese and jalapenos until the fruit and nut beep). Then when I added the cheese and jalapenos, it was too liquidy and I had to add more flour (see where this is going?). Then my kneading cycle was over but the flour wasn't all combined in the dough so I just took it out of the bread machine and kneaded a bit by hand, then followed the recipe as is. But I didn't bother to try to get out the bubbles before I placed it in the loaf pan, and I forgot about it and let it rise too long. So. . .it looked funny, was a bit spicy, and had a big hole in the middle. But again--completely my fault! So when I try it again I'll have to follow the instructions a little better and it'll turn out perfect. :o) (Well, that's if I remember . . . .)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This recipe is delicious! I cut the ingredients in half and just made a big round loaf and cooked it on my pizza stone. I didn't have enough cheddar cheese so I used Monterey Jack too. Wonderful flavors with using both. I would suggest not to shred all the cheese but leave a couple of chunks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Excellent! Cheesy, spicy and soft without being overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This is a favorite of ours. We have made it many times and it has never failed me!! I know others have said that the 'hot' water was too hot. Well, I just read the directions for yeast somewhere and found that it needs to be between 105-110 degrees. So, try it again you might like this bread yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This has been a favorite of mine ....so I was very happy to find the same recipe here! Two things I've done with this is add a little cayenne pepper with the flour to give it EXTRA punch.....and I make rolls instead of loaves - works better in a party situation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Spicy Jalapeno and Bacon Flatbread

Tasty flatbread is topped with bacon, veggies, and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States