Jalapeno Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is really good bread. If your water temperature is not over 105, it will rise beautifully. I always check the tempature of my water with a thermometer just to be sure. I baked two loaves in pans and baked the third on my pizza stone. All the loaves were great, but the one cooked on the pizza stone was beautiful - thanks to the other reveiwer who suggested this method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I love jalapeno cheese bread and this was very good. I usually make it one loaf at time though, as I like it best hot from the oven. To pep it up a little I also add about 1/4 tsp of tabasco sauce to the dough with the 2nd half of the liquid mixture. I also really like this with very course chopped jalapenos as well as with extra sharp cheese, cut into little cubes (about a 1/4 inch or so). It makes cheese pockets. Oh, and I like to shape this into a long loaf, brush with egg white and a little water and bake on a greased cookie sheet. The crust is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
The first time that I made this recipe it didn't turn out well since I followed the instuctions adding "hot" water to the yeast. Of course it didn't rise. I decided to try it again. I really think this recipe is not for me. (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I found this to be a tasty bread but not very hot or spicy. I did add more cayanne pepper the next time I made it. One problem is that the cheese will melt when you are kneading from the heat of your hands. The second time I made it I added the cheese as I was shaping the loaves so you could actually see pieces of cheese instead of just having orange bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This recipe is delicious! I cut the ingredients in half and just made a big round loaf and cooked it on my pizza stone. I didn't have enough cheddar cheese so I used Monterey Jack too. Wonderful flavors with using both. I would suggest not to shred all the cheese but leave a couple of chunks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was a great recipe to start with, but we always end up customizing recipes to our taste. We made this bread spicier. We halved the recipe and used bread flour, a few sliced pickled jalapenos (and the carrots it came with) and chunks from a whole 8 oz cheddar cheese block. In lieu of the 1 cup of hot water, we mixed a 1/4 cup of the liquid from the jalapeno pickle can with 3/4 cup of warm milk (skim). We also added one egg. The bread turned out fantastic and had the perfect kick! Next time we will probably try to add a little more cheese, but this recipe was easy to follow and personalize! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Outrageously good! I cut the recipe in half but still added 1/2 cup (heaping) minced jalapenos (seeds in), and used some cubed cheese as well. Made large rolls and YUM...I work at a Tex-Mex joint and my co-workers loved it too! Quite a bit of heat but easily mellowed by seeding/cutting back on peppers. Thanks much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The cook who noted the problem with hot water is correct--always use warm water for best results with yeast. Additionally, you can add about 1 cup more cheese to the recipe for a more savory result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
THIS WAS MY FIRST REVIEW ON THIS RECIPE: A friend of mine made this bread & it was absolutly excellant. I couldn't wait to try it, since I have an over abundancy of Jalapenos. I followed the recipe, but I used "hot" water & it didn't rise at all. After failing twice w/ the recipe I got on the web & checked out the ratings. I also saw where someone else made it w/ no luck in the bread rising. Next time I will use warm water instead. Hopefully that will take care of the problem. MY SECOND REVIEW: There are NOT enough stars on here for this one. It turned out absolutly wonderful the third time (3X's a charm I guess). I used "WARM" water this time instead of "HOT" & what a difference it made. It rised!!!!!! Anyone thinking of making this wonderful bread, please do it is very tasty w/ just the right "SPICE".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Okay, when the recipe says to get out the bubbles . . .do it, or you will have holes in your bread. I had to laugh when bf cut into the bread and started complaining. It's all my fault, of course. The recipe warns you! And I used hot jalapenos, which is a bit too hot for me. But otherwise, delicious! Bf really liked it despite the holes and heat. And since the holes and the heat are all my fault, I'm still giving it a 5. I wanted to use it in my bread machine, so I scaled the recipe to 12 servings. But I need to add more water, because it didn't go together well enough (I didn't add the cheese and jalapenos until the fruit and nut beep). Then when I added the cheese and jalapenos, it was too liquidy and I had to add more flour (see where this is going?). Then my kneading cycle was over but the flour wasn't all combined in the dough so I just took it out of the bread machine and kneaded a bit by hand, then followed the recipe as is. But I didn't bother to try to get out the bubbles before I placed it in the loaf pan, and I forgot about it and let it rise too long. So. . .it looked funny, was a bit spicy, and had a big hole in the middle. But again--completely my fault! So when I try it again I'll have to follow the instructions a little better and it'll turn out perfect. :o) (Well, that's if I remember . . . .)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Spicy Jalapeno and Bacon Flatbread

Tasty flatbread is topped with bacon, veggies, and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States