Jalapeno Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Outrageously good! I cut the recipe in half but still added 1/2 cup (heaping) minced jalapenos (seeds in), and used some cubed cheese as well. Made large rolls and YUM...I work at a Tex-Mex joint and my co-workers loved it too! Quite a bit of heat but easily mellowed by seeding/cutting back on peppers. Thanks much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I love jalapeno cheese bread and this was very good. I usually make it one loaf at time though, as I like it best hot from the oven. To pep it up a little I also add about 1/4 tsp of tabasco sauce to the dough with the 2nd half of the liquid mixture. I also really like this with very course chopped jalapenos as well as with extra sharp cheese, cut into little cubes (about a 1/4 inch or so). It makes cheese pockets. Oh, and I like to shape this into a long loaf, brush with egg white and a little water and bake on a greased cookie sheet. The crust is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I added extra cheese and jalapenos, and used warm water as suggested by other reviewers. I've tried this twice now, and both times it came out a little more brown on the outside than I like. The bread tasted good, but was a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
we also, in the last five minutes of baking, spread a little bit of melted butter over the top and sprinkled more cheese. it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I found this to be a tasty bread but not very hot or spicy. I did add more cayanne pepper the next time I made it. One problem is that the cheese will melt when you are kneading from the heat of your hands. The second time I made it I added the cheese as I was shaping the loaves so you could actually see pieces of cheese instead of just having orange bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This was the only recipe I could find for this bread and I was sadly dissapointed. Too sweet, and of course the "hot" water didnt allow the bread to rise. Not near enough cheese flavor, though the jalapeno is easily adjusted. Will be playing with these ingredients quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rusk, Texas, USA
Living In: Breckenridge, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Kirby, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Not really spicy, but still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAVYA29

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I'm going to try this one again. I don't know what I did wrong with the jalapenos and cheese, but it was bland. And I used small chunks of cheese instead of shredded as another cook suggested. Also, do not try and shortcut on time by cutting out one of the 3 times the bread needs to rise. I skipped the 2nd one and It turned out dense. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The cook who noted the problem with hot water is correct--always use warm water for best results with yeast. Additionally, you can add about 1 cup more cheese to the recipe for a more savory result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States