Jalapeno Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Very good recipe. I use a third of the recipe, and made 12 dinner rolls in a 13x9 dish. They worked out perfectly! I also used WARM water as suggested. I didn't take the temperature, just made it so it was "shower-warm" temperature. I used hot pepper rings, which I like better than jalapenos. And before you let the bread or rolls rise the second time, sprinkle them with lots of cheese. It will bake up perfectly. If you put it on after the bread rises, it will just fall. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Gingerich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very good bread, success my first try. I used half the recipe and I added extra vlasic jalapenos and kept a tiny bit of the juice in and extra cheese (2/3 sharp chedder 1/3 fiesta blend) Made 2 decent sized loaves.... very good as bread for a grilled chicken sandwich right out of the oven. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Excellent bread with two major downfalls. Not enough cheese and jalapeños. We like things very spicy though (we are from the southwest). We also are fiends for cheese, so that is also a little downfall. Other than that the bread was very tasty and rose perfectly as long as you mix it with WARM water not hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Morrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Just two changes; Use *warm* water to proof the yeast, not hot. It works better with 1/4" cubed cheese. Otherwise a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This bread was great. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
CANT WAIT TO TRY THIS RECIPE.I WAS READING THE REVIEWS AND CAME ACROSS POMPLEMOUSSE REVIEW AND WAS AMUSED BY HER EXPERIENCE.I WONT FEEL SO BAD IF MY BREAD TURNS OUT TO BE A FLOP,I WILL SMILE AND TRY IT AGAIN,THANKS TO THAT CUTE REVIEW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Massey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
The bread turned out pretty good. I added a little bit more jalapenos for an extra kick. My loaf is kind of dense but I think it was from all the chunks of cheese. Overall my boyfriend and I both enjoyed it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Great recipe!! Read the other reviews, made sure my water was between 105-110... rose beautifully. Increased the jalapenos for extra kick. Baked 2 loaves in a pan and the third loaf on my baking stone. All 3 were perfect. Will use time and time again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels0315

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Okay, when the recipe says to get out the bubbles . . .do it, or you will have holes in your bread. I had to laugh when bf cut into the bread and started complaining. It's all my fault, of course. The recipe warns you! And I used hot jalapenos, which is a bit too hot for me. But otherwise, delicious! Bf really liked it despite the holes and heat. And since the holes and the heat are all my fault, I'm still giving it a 5. I wanted to use it in my bread machine, so I scaled the recipe to 12 servings. But I need to add more water, because it didn't go together well enough (I didn't add the cheese and jalapenos until the fruit and nut beep). Then when I added the cheese and jalapenos, it was too liquidy and I had to add more flour (see where this is going?). Then my kneading cycle was over but the flour wasn't all combined in the dough so I just took it out of the bread machine and kneaded a bit by hand, then followed the recipe as is. But I didn't bother to try to get out the bubbles before I placed it in the loaf pan, and I forgot about it and let it rise too long. So. . .it looked funny, was a bit spicy, and had a big hole in the middle. But again--completely my fault! So when I try it again I'll have to follow the instructions a little better and it'll turn out perfect. :o) (Well, that's if I remember . . . .)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Outrageously good! I cut the recipe in half but still added 1/2 cup (heaping) minced jalapenos (seeds in), and used some cubed cheese as well. Made large rolls and YUM...I work at a Tex-Mex joint and my co-workers loved it too! Quite a bit of heat but easily mellowed by seeding/cutting back on peppers. Thanks much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States