Jalapeno Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made this yesterday and was VERY disappointed! I used more than the 3/4 cup minced jalapeno (fresh from my garden), and 1 cup of jalepeno cheese along with the cheddar. The ONLY thing I could taste was yeast - not cheese or hot peppers. I don't understand how anyone could call this spicy, or even good. I had no trouble with "bubbles" or getting my yeast to rise. The loaves came out wierd looking - more like a quick bread. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was a great recipe to start with, but we always end up customizing recipes to our taste. We made this bread spicier. We halved the recipe and used bread flour, a few sliced pickled jalapenos (and the carrots it came with) and chunks from a whole 8 oz cheddar cheese block. In lieu of the 1 cup of hot water, we mixed a 1/4 cup of the liquid from the jalapeno pickle can with 3/4 cup of warm milk (skim). We also added one egg. The bread turned out fantastic and had the perfect kick! Next time we will probably try to add a little more cheese, but this recipe was easy to follow and personalize! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Tasty bread and not hard to make. Although if you use hot water it will kill the yeast, best to use warm water. I also added some fresh minced cilantro and cut the recipe in half :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These loaves came out beautifully. I made this with, and then without, jalapenos, and they both tasted great. Will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caradae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Not really what I was looking for. I wanted something much cheesier and not as bready. On the positive side, the bread came out with uniformly consistent small air pockets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was fantastic!!!! I would give it 10 STARS!!! Do you remember to use warm water instead of HOT water! I would use a little less than 7 C for the original mixing. It was a lot of kneading!!! It was worth it. I divided it into 3 batches and it made it alittle easier to knead. I then joined the 3 batches ... never added the extra cup. It was just cheesy enough and I used a little less than 3/4 C of jalapenos and it was just right for my family. LOVED IT! This will be a regular bread for my family!!! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Note about rising problems: hot water (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Excellent recipe. I made this last night. I altered the following based on other reviews: used a full 1.25 cups of fresh diced jalepenos (seeds/ribs removed). used olive oil instead of veg. oil. Had two blocks of 8 oz each hard white cheddar. One i cubed very finely the other i grated coursely. I had a sourdough starter i was restarting so i had about 1.5 cups of that i threw in and cut back on yeast to about equiv of a little less than 2 packs..maybe 4 teaspoons. It took about 1.5 hours to rise in my warm kitchen. I mixed with kitchenaid on speed 2 for 5 minutes (which could barely contain the dough at this point). this made 3 HUGE loaves...(the sourdough made the batch bigger..but the crumb was so moist and open). 2-8 1/2 pans and one Pampered chef loaf pan which is at least 9 x 5? EXCELLENT recipe...i will return to this one as a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this bread today; used pepper-jack cheese instead of cheddar. I also halved the recipe and had excellent results. I will definitely make this yummy bread again! Lee Crowley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is a very good bread recipe. I put the dough of one of my loves in a bundt pan by making several balls of dough and placing them in the pan. It made a good pull apart bread for a cook out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pauls Valley, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States