Jagerschnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2004
We thought this was very good and would not change a thing. I was born in Germany and this is very close to authentic. I would not recommend using any type of seasoned bread crumbs because it will really change the way it should taste with the sauce. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Delicious, best w/pork as Veal is to bland.I've eaten it in Karlsruhe and they made it w/pork.It is a dish for people who like to cook and eat well.Yes it is authentic to Germany and dishes like Jaegerschnitzel vary from Region to Region, from Village to Village .And if the meat is tough, then it is your meat/cooking most likely it was not pounded thin enough. When I lightly brown my onions and mushrooms I then add regular flour and also brown it lightly , I then use beef-stock to make my gravy, season it again and add sour- or sweetcream whichever I have handy and I always use freshly ground carawayseeds,when I season my porkstaeks and when I prepare the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hersbruck, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This is a wonderful dish. The only changes I would make is the cornstarch. Try only 1/2 T. The Germans do have a thinner sauce. We were also in Germany for several years, loved this dish. It most authentically should be served with a cucumber/yogurt dressing salad and pommes frites(french fries) or spaetzle. And served with spatzee which is orange crush and coke. You'll feel like you're at a German fest. I've also made this with turkey or chicken breasts (pounded real thin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETITE BAKER

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I have to admit I added a bit of onion powder and garlic powder to my flour/bread crumb mixture, and instead of using a can of mushrooms, I fried up fresh mushrooms in butter with the onions till soft, then added the cornstarch and followed with the water, bouillion and sour creme. My family of 9 loved this! SOOOOO much flavor. I also went all out German and served the German Spaetzle Dumplings (from this site) along side this Jagerschnitzel. The two dishes went together beautifully. This is easy to prepare, smells and tastes wonderful cooking-a winner of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
My husband and I recently returned from 2 weeks in the Bavarian region of Germany. I discovered Jagerschnitzel the first day and was hooked. I ate it at 4 different restaurants (from a five star restaurant down to a truck stop). It was different each time. This is an excellent version, I may add a little additional seasoning to the gravy to make it absolutely perfect. As a side note, we prefer to make Spaetzle with the schnitzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This recipe was a hit at my annual wine and cheese party. We had alot of german people there, and they thought it was right from Germany. I would suggest using fresh button mushrooms, instead of canned. Angela Himmeroder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Wow,this is one fantastic recipe. I made this foe the family and they all loved it. The only change I made was to use a 1/2 cup of white wine with 1 cup of water.I will be making this recipe many times. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Crystal Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This is fantastic, and tastes very much like what I used to buy at the butcher shop while living in Germany! I made two changes--used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and I used the thin 'breakfast style' pork slices so that I wouldn't have to pound the meat. To make an even thicker, crispier crust, I dipped the pork in the egg and then in the breadcrumbs, and then did that again. I had this as the main dish for my "Oktoberfest"-themed cooking club, and it was a raving success--especially for a bunch of women who are not big fans of fried meat! I served it with Spaetzle and Rotkohl (red cabbage). I've made it several times for family and friends, and it turns out excellent every time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
My husband's father was stationed with the Air Force in Germany when my husband was very young, so a lot of his "comfort food" is German. As someone who has in lived in the South all my life, cooking is a big part of my life and I wanted to find some recipes to make for him. This recipe was easy to do and, according to him, was what he remembered. We had it with steak fries, a German spinach casserole and Apple Strudel. It was a great hit with my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aliceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was one of the very few German foods I grew up with that I actually liked, so I was eager to make this for my gang. Altho my pork was sliced very thinly, five minutes per side left the meat still very pink. I used fresh mushrooms and fat free/low sodium chicken broth instead of the bouillon. Because the pork was still rare, I added a can of C of M soup to the sauce and simmered the meat in the sauce until it was done. Still in all, this was a wonderful recipe that my whole family loved. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States