Jagerschnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I found this to be a little different than I expected...the jagerschnitzel I had in Germany had a much browner, thinner sauce. It was still pretty good, though! I just added a little more water to thin it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This recipe was a hit at my annual wine and cheese party. We had alot of german people there, and they thought it was right from Germany. I would suggest using fresh button mushrooms, instead of canned. Angela Himmeroder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This did not go over well. No flavor, no one wanted seconds. I even used flavored breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
My husband's father was stationed with the Air Force in Germany when my husband was very young, so a lot of his "comfort food" is German. As someone who has in lived in the South all my life, cooking is a big part of my life and I wanted to find some recipes to make for him. This recipe was easy to do and, according to him, was what he remembered. We had it with steak fries, a German spinach casserole and Apple Strudel. It was a great hit with my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aliceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
My husband and I recently returned from 2 weeks in the Bavarian region of Germany. I discovered Jagerschnitzel the first day and was hooked. I ate it at 4 different restaurants (from a five star restaurant down to a truck stop). It was different each time. This is an excellent version, I may add a little additional seasoning to the gravy to make it absolutely perfect. As a side note, we prefer to make Spaetzle with the schnitzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2004
We thought this was very good and would not change a thing. I was born in Germany and this is very close to authentic. I would not recommend using any type of seasoned bread crumbs because it will really change the way it should taste with the sauce. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This recipe was a hit with the adults and two and under set in my house. I had to serve the sauce on the side for the picky 7 and 19 year olds. I did alter the recipe, as I found it interesting there were very little seasonings in the recipe. I added garlic powder and paprika to the flour, and rolled the steaks in flour, then egg, then breadcrumbs for a more robust "crust" on the meat. I also extra beef base for more flavor in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This turned out very tasty! I added a little dried basil to the bread crumbs along with pepper and seasoned salt, then added the pork steaks (bone in) back to the pan while simmering to finish cooking. Had to sub chicken boul. for the beef. Served it over noodles with peas. We really enjoyed the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Great tasting recipe. To make lower carb friendly, I skipped the flour/bread crumb coating and kept the rest of the recipe the same. Decided to keep the cornstarch since it only added 2 carbs per serving. Yummy dish! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This is a wonderful dish. The only changes I would make is the cornstarch. Try only 1/2 T. The Germans do have a thinner sauce. We were also in Germany for several years, loved this dish. It most authentically should be served with a cucumber/yogurt dressing salad and pommes frites(french fries) or spaetzle. And served with spatzee which is orange crush and coke. You'll feel like you're at a German fest. I've also made this with turkey or chicken breasts (pounded real thin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETITE BAKER

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States