Jagerschnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. This has become comfort food in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
WOW - this was great! We used pork cube steaks to save the beating step, and found 20 minutes was more than enough to simmer the beginning of the gravy, but followed everything else to a T. we'll have this regularly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I served it with fries as recommended, but I think next time i'll serve noodles because the gravy reminded me of stroganoff. We'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Fantastic. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is the best recipe I've found on here so far. It isn't too great for the waistline, but it is absolutely delicious. I'm not kidding - this thing tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was awesome! I've been experimenting with German fare during this month - Oktoberfest and all - and this was definitely a winner. I don't have much frame of reference here - I haven't had much German food in my lifetime, but my husband has and he loved it. I took the suggestion of serving it with french fries to soak up the gravy, and also served braised cabbage alongside it. The pork cutlets didn't look that great at the store when I went shopping, so instead I just got a pork tenderloin and sliced it myself, pounding it very thin. I followed the breading instructions exactly as written, and then deep-fried them in my fry daddy - they fried up in three minutes perfectly. So tender - and I've always had a hard time getting pork just right. This is totally going into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I love this. Its now always requested at my house. Now the changes I made: I don't not use any salt, I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, and since I used vegetable broth instead of beef bouillon. And I didn't pound out my pork chops. I have made it with thick ones and thin ones, I just recomend you use boneless. I cook mine just enough to get the outside brown and crispy and then toss them in my oven's warmer. Remember meat continues to cook even once out of the pan or off the grill The fact that Sour Cream comes in 8oz containers works out perfect because once I make this its asked for again within a week max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Delicious. Made it as written with a couple of minor changes in the sauce. Ran out of beef bouillon so used chicken and cut back on the corn starch in the sour cream. With or without the sauce this is my new pork chop recipe. We served it over homemade spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe was so delicious! The only change I made was to add dried parsley and lemon zest to the breading. I doubled the recipe for a family of four to have leftovers. Doubling the gravy makes way more gravy than you need but that worked out great since the gravy got such rave reviews from my family. I'll serve the extra gravy tomorrow over egg noodles. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was a pretty good schnitzel recipe. I would give it 5 stars except for the fact it is very easy to burn. When the pork is pounded thin, it really only takes 2-3 minutes per side to cook. Any longer and the breading burns. The only other note I would make is to dice your onions fairly large for the gravy. If you dice them too small, they tend to melt into the gravy while cooking, making the onion flavor of the sauce a little too strong. I'll still make this again, but I may tweak a few things next time - and maybe improve on my pan frying skills a bit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States