Jagerschnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
AWESOME recipe!!!! I made exactly except I doubled the gravy ingedients because this might now be the German tradition, but I thought this would be great with mashed potatoes and that gravy tasted amazing on the mashed potatoes too!! 1,000 thumbs up!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is absolutely one of our favorite pork dishes. The only changes I have made to the recipe is to use beef broth instead of the water and bouillon, I often use sliced pork tenderloin instead of cutlets or steaks, and I often use garbanzo bean flour instead of cornstarch. This recipe is wonderful as written, and my changes are to add nutrients and what I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Darn good! The only thing I had to do differently was use medium-lowish heat instead of med-high like the recipe stated. Med-high burnt the coating on the pork before the meat could cook all the way through. This may not be as much of a problem for others though as I do have a pretty kick butt stove top! Will def be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgoodwin91

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
made it exactly as directed, served with green beans and mashed potatoes. Really simple meal - gets five stars for being very easy to make, tasty, and a hit with three picky children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Sadly our ancient freezer died yesterday morning but we caught the problem in time to save everything. We had carefully hoarded 4 packages of wild pig cutlets that had, unfortunately, thawed, but still had ice crystals in them. Unwilling to submit them to less than the perfect recipe I used this one tonight. OMG!!! Hubby ate 5 cutlets!!! I had 2...(they were rather small :) and we will use the remainders later this hectic week for leftovers. Hubby just kept saying...these are GREAT...what do you call them??? I don't know what the German interpretation is...but it must mean super wonderful pork cutlets!!! (Will admit I subbed non-fat yogurt for sour cream as we have an issue with cholesterol...but they were still EXTREME!!!!) Hope we get some wild piggies soon!!! This recipe rocks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
With thin, kind of fatty pork chops this was good. Would be excellent with thick steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Delicious! The only modification I made is boiling fresh mushrooms in the microwave for 4 minutes before adding to the skillet. Grew up in Germany, tasted authentic to me. Served with spaetzle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I didn't make the gravy. I fried the pork in 1/2 butter and 1/2 oil to give the pork a tastier crust. Came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I wasn't impressed with this at all. I used beef stock instead of bouillon and fresh mushrooms instead of canned, and I didn't think it had much flavor at all. Definitely didn't taste like it does in the restaurants here in Germany. A German friend told me that in south Germany they add beer to the sauce...I'll have to research that. To me, this didn't taste creamy or mushroomy or really like anything :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I can't get my husband to stop raving about this recipe...it was fantastic. I had to make one change, though because I didn't have beef boullion. I used chicken and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States