Jagerschnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I wanted to treat hubby, he works hard and was in Germany in the service. The breading stayed on and fried up nicely. I used fresh mushrooms and sauteed them along with the onions. Really yummy! Easy to prepare and if you can find the pork steaks on sale, easy on the wallet too! Carlos thought this was Pretty good. he couldn't quite remember if this was how it tasted back in Lovely old Germany but I say, it's a winner:) Thank You Dspiral73
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
The weather is starting to cool off here and it was the perfect day for some comfort food....soooo....Jagerschnitzel it was! I did use fresh mushrooms instead of canned and subbed the beef broth for the buillion. The only other change I made was accidentally omitted the onions and subbed onion powder instead because I am a dunce and forgot to grab one at the store. It was extremely good and tasted just like the kind I get at the authentic German restaurant down the road. I made sure to pound the pork very, very thin and served it with fried potatoes and apple sauce. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
YUM! I made lots so that there would be extras and there ended up not being any. This was soooo good. Definitely comfort food. My hubby was born in Germany and lived there for quite a few years and this meets his approval. He loved it! I did make a couple of changes. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned because I had some in the fridge and I used beef stock instead of a bouillon cube because I had some in the pantry. My hubby says that I have to put this in our regular rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was great! I agree with the reviewers who stated this was like stroganoff. It's just a little more "fancy"! I followed the recipe exactly and served with garlic smashed taters. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
My family LOVED this!!!!! The only changes I made was that I sauteed fresh mushrooms with the onions for about 5 minutes, and I used beef broth instead of boullion cubes. It is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Sehr gut! Very authentic and easy to make. I used green onions, which added great flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was great! Did remind me of stroganoff but more mushroomy! Make sure you measure the salt. I just sprinkled it on and it was a little saltier than I like. The mushrooms add their own salty flavor. Will be keeping this one handy. Fast & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Summit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Photo by amccoy
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Delicious - my husband wants to eat this for every other meal. We cut the amount of sour cream (about 1tbsp), but don't change anything else. Serve with spaetzle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ok_songbird
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
i will make this again and again. so yummy with the creamy and savory mushroom sauce, and pounded the cutlets thin was fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
My husband and I loved this recipe! I served it with gnocchi and green beans. However, we thought by adding the sour cream it gave the mushroom gravy a more stroganoff flavor. Instead of water and beef bouillon I used beef broth and instead of adding cornstarch at the end I added 2 tablespoons. of flour to the mushrooms and cooked it for a few minutes so you wouldn't taste the raw flour. Overall, this was a great recipe and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States