Jagerschnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was a pretty good schnitzel recipe. I would give it 5 stars except for the fact it is very easy to burn. When the pork is pounded thin, it really only takes 2-3 minutes per side to cook. Any longer and the breading burns. The only other note I would make is to dice your onions fairly large for the gravy. If you dice them too small, they tend to melt into the gravy while cooking, making the onion flavor of the sauce a little too strong. I'll still make this again, but I may tweak a few things next time - and maybe improve on my pan frying skills a bit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is just like Oma made it. The only thing I would change is frying the pork in butter on medium lto medium low, rather than in oil. A tblsp + of butter per batch crisps them up nicely so long as you wipe out the burned butter and crumbs between the batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made it with the fries as suggested, it felt too fast foodish. Next time I make it with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red_Hott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was good, but a little bland. Not the type of Jagerschnitzel that makes you say "it's great". It helped to add lemon before it was served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Very tasty, AND, authentic. I lived in Germany for 11 years and every single Jaeger Schnitzel I ordered was ALWAYS breaded (and i ordered a lot!). Great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beeskinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Came out really delicious. I was skeptical about mixing bread crumbs(I used Panko), flour and spices in one step but it works. I also sustituted the water for 1/2 can of German beer it gave the sauce more depth of flavor. Thanks for a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
It isn't bad , but a real Bavarian jagerschnitzel isn't breaded . And I know because i am German . I wouldn't make that again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmenhall
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I wanted to treat hubby, he works hard and was in Germany in the service. The breading stayed on and fried up nicely. I used fresh mushrooms and sauteed them along with the onions. Really yummy! Easy to prepare and if you can find the pork steaks on sale, easy on the wallet too! Carlos thought this was Pretty good. he couldn't quite remember if this was how it tasted back in Lovely old Germany but I say, it's a winner:) Thank You Dspiral73
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
The weather is starting to cool off here and it was the perfect day for some comfort food....soooo....Jagerschnitzel it was! I did use fresh mushrooms instead of canned and subbed the beef broth for the buillion. The only other change I made was accidentally omitted the onions and subbed onion powder instead because I am a dunce and forgot to grab one at the store. It was extremely good and tasted just like the kind I get at the authentic German restaurant down the road. I made sure to pound the pork very, very thin and served it with fried potatoes and apple sauce. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
YUM! I made lots so that there would be extras and there ended up not being any. This was soooo good. Definitely comfort food. My hubby was born in Germany and lived there for quite a few years and this meets his approval. He loved it! I did make a couple of changes. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned because I had some in the fridge and I used beef stock instead of a bouillon cube because I had some in the pantry. My hubby says that I have to put this in our regular rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States