Jagerschnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Delicious. Made it as written with a couple of minor changes in the sauce. Ran out of beef bouillon so used chicken and cut back on the corn starch in the sour cream. With or without the sauce this is my new pork chop recipe. We served it over homemade spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe was so delicious! The only change I made was to add dried parsley and lemon zest to the breading. I doubled the recipe for a family of four to have leftovers. Doubling the gravy makes way more gravy than you need but that worked out great since the gravy got such rave reviews from my family. I'll serve the extra gravy tomorrow over egg noodles. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was a pretty good schnitzel recipe. I would give it 5 stars except for the fact it is very easy to burn. When the pork is pounded thin, it really only takes 2-3 minutes per side to cook. Any longer and the breading burns. The only other note I would make is to dice your onions fairly large for the gravy. If you dice them too small, they tend to melt into the gravy while cooking, making the onion flavor of the sauce a little too strong. I'll still make this again, but I may tweak a few things next time - and maybe improve on my pan frying skills a bit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is just like Oma made it. The only thing I would change is frying the pork in butter on medium lto medium low, rather than in oil. A tblsp + of butter per batch crisps them up nicely so long as you wipe out the burned butter and crumbs between the batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made it with the fries as suggested, it felt too fast foodish. Next time I make it with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red_Hott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was good, but a little bland. Not the type of Jagerschnitzel that makes you say "it's great". It helped to add lemon before it was served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Very tasty, AND, authentic. I lived in Germany for 11 years and every single Jaeger Schnitzel I ordered was ALWAYS breaded (and i ordered a lot!). Great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beeskinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Came out really delicious. I was skeptical about mixing bread crumbs(I used Panko), flour and spices in one step but it works. I also sustituted the water for 1/2 can of German beer it gave the sauce more depth of flavor. Thanks for a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
It isn't bad , but a real Bavarian jagerschnitzel isn't breaded . And I know because i am German . I wouldn't make that again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmenhall
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I wanted to treat hubby, he works hard and was in Germany in the service. The breading stayed on and fried up nicely. I used fresh mushrooms and sauteed them along with the onions. Really yummy! Easy to prepare and if you can find the pork steaks on sale, easy on the wallet too! Carlos thought this was Pretty good. he couldn't quite remember if this was how it tasted back in Lovely old Germany but I say, it's a winner:) Thank You Dspiral73
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States