Jagerschnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I decided to try this as I heard a few people who said they really liked it on here. I had 4 kind of large pork cutlet steaks. So, I just cut them in half, so they would get throughly cooked. I did the full amount of bread crumbs, but about half of them did not get used. I thought the sauteed pork tasted fine without the sauce. I may buy some better quality cutlets and tenderize my own and try it again, just making that meat. I just really did not care for the sauce at all and found it to be way too chunky. And, the canned mushrooms just did not seem to work well in it. I wish I would have used fresh mushrooms in the sauce, that may have helped. I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
WOW this was delicious!!! I made this recipe exactly as written and was very impressed!!! The ONLY suggestion I would make is this: start the gravy FIRST, and in the 20 minutes that the gravy has to simmer, begin to bread and fry the cutlets. I did the cutlets first as the recipe suggested, and then as I made the gravey, the cutlets got cold. Also I served this with Spaetzle, and poured the remaining gravy all over the spaetzel as well. This dish also reheats nicely....lucky for me, so I got to enjoy left overs again today for lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. This has become comfort food in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
WOW - this was great! We used pork cube steaks to save the beating step, and found 20 minutes was more than enough to simmer the beginning of the gravy, but followed everything else to a T. we'll have this regularly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I served it with fries as recommended, but I think next time i'll serve noodles because the gravy reminded me of stroganoff. We'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Fantastic. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is the best recipe I've found on here so far. It isn't too great for the waistline, but it is absolutely delicious. I'm not kidding - this thing tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was awesome! I've been experimenting with German fare during this month - Oktoberfest and all - and this was definitely a winner. I don't have much frame of reference here - I haven't had much German food in my lifetime, but my husband has and he loved it. I took the suggestion of serving it with french fries to soak up the gravy, and also served braised cabbage alongside it. The pork cutlets didn't look that great at the store when I went shopping, so instead I just got a pork tenderloin and sliced it myself, pounding it very thin. I followed the breading instructions exactly as written, and then deep-fried them in my fry daddy - they fried up in three minutes perfectly. So tender - and I've always had a hard time getting pork just right. This is totally going into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I love this. Its now always requested at my house. Now the changes I made: I don't not use any salt, I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, and since I used vegetable broth instead of beef bouillon. And I didn't pound out my pork chops. I have made it with thick ones and thin ones, I just recomend you use boneless. I cook mine just enough to get the outside brown and crispy and then toss them in my oven's warmer. Remember meat continues to cook even once out of the pan or off the grill The fact that Sour Cream comes in 8oz containers works out perfect because once I make this its asked for again within a week max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Delicious. Made it as written with a couple of minor changes in the sauce. Ran out of beef bouillon so used chicken and cut back on the corn starch in the sour cream. With or without the sauce this is my new pork chop recipe. We served it over homemade spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States