Jade Garden Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I came across this recipe to use up a bunch of produce I had around. In general I like that it's quite a healthy recipe, but overall it just tasted rather bland and felt like it was missing something. I really wanted to like this one, but it was just rather unappealing- even the color once I blended it with my immersion blender. If I were to make this again, I think I would change it up- like another reviewer said- maybe cilantro instead of parsley and with some soy sauce and garlic. Also, I would think just blending the greens would result in a nicer looking soup as well, with some nice texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This soup was delicious! My boys especially loved it and gobbled it up! I had a ton of butter lettuce and parsley from our CSA that I needed to use up and this was the perfect recipe to use them. I used veggie broth and brown rice instead of the white, and it turned out great. Like other reviewers, I just added the lettuce, spinach, and parsley to the soup pot and let it wilt up. I also just used an immersion blender to blend it up, but I think it would be good chunky too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Delicious; just wilted the greens into the stock and then blended in the pot with a hand blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
O M Gosh! The beauty of this soup is surpassed only by its unexpected layers of delicious flavors. The green is shattering, and when I added the dollop of sour cream and the paprika, I was stunned by what I had produced! And so easily!!!! And it's ridiculously healthy! Everybody loves it. I add a little bit (1/2 teaspoon) of cayenne pepper in place of the black pepper. Any leftover veg I have gets thrown in too. I cannot recommend this delicious recipe highly enough. And it's quick! I make it more affordable by using a bag of spring garden mix in place of the butter lettuce and 1 lb frozen spinach. Go forth and cook this amazing soup, strengthen your friends' bodies and your own reputation as a good cook. It's good hot or cold, but really it's much better hot. And at Christmas, what a beautiful starter with that jewel green, blob of white sour cream and the fabulous dark red of the paprika sprinkled (heavily) over the top. My my. I'm gonna make some right now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
When I saw the title of the recipe I thought it may have an Asian/Oriental twist but then it didn't seem like it upon reading the ingredients. So given what was in my fridge, I thought I'd give it a try. I used shallots in place of onion, finely chopped lemon grass and red chile in place of the celery. I sauteed the veggies and chillies first, then added 1/2 cup jasmine rice, then the stock. I cut the cooking time in half, give or take. Then I turned off the heat and stirred in spinach/arugula/mizuna lettuce mix and chopped chinese cabbage and a good handful of parsley (all I had). Blitzed it in the blender with a bit of water, returned it to the pan and reheated, adding soy sauce at the end - about 1/4 cup. Fab! Really flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paminwales

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I chose to only blend the lettuce, spinach, and parsley because I like a more chunky soup. It had a good flavor but next time I think I will replace some of the parsley with cilantro for a different twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I started making this recipe, intending to do as it says and blend the soup. Then realized that I didn't have a blender available!! (cooking at my boyfriend's condo) So I threw a little more rice in, and we ate it without blending it. It was delicious and filling just like that. That being said, I will definitely try this again when I actually have a blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Admittedly, I was bit skeptical but delivered a bunch of butter lettuce that I didn't know what to do with, so I found this recipe. I am glad I tried it, this recipe is awesome. The flavor is amazing and this recipe is extremely flexible. I made this even though I was missing a few components: parsley, cayenne pepper, and celery. I used only 2 cans of broth, and about the same amount of spinach and butter lettuce as required by the 7 servings recipe. I added about 1 tbs butter, thyme and oregano spices, and otherwise followed the recipe as indicated. No doubt this would be even BETTER with the celery and parsley as the recipe states. I wonder what this would taste like with brown rice instead of white (for a different texture, nuttier flavor). IMPORTANT: PLEASE BE CAREFUL WHILE BLENDING HOT ITEMS. The pressure will cause the hot soup to shoot through the blender top AND the peephole cap, even if fully secure. You may want to let this cool some before blending (not sure if this will affect the recipe) or put a towel over the top and cap. I got a pretty nasty burn on my hand and was fortunate that it didn't shoot into my face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HAYNIE13
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This is a great recipe if your fridge is out of control! I used the recipe as a base and made a few changes because of what I needed to use up. I started by using 8 cups of low-sodium chicken broth, 1/2 cup of rice (this is the thickener). I didn't have onions, so I used scapes (flowering tops of garlic), I tripled the carrots, and used at least 2 cups each of lettuce and spinach. I also added lovage (about 1/4 cup). I needed to use the lovage and it has a natural salt flavor, so I didn't need to add any salt to the recipe. I used a giant pot, so I did not have to wilt the lettuce and spinach separately, I just added it in at the end and covered for approx 2 minutes. I ended up pureeing only 3/4 of the soup. I thought that a little texture would suit my family. I put the sour cream in a plastic bag and cut off the end to squeeze and swirl on top of this soup. My ENTIRE family loved it(even my kids ages 3 & 5). It is a very fresh tasting, perfect for summer soup! Serve hot or cold! Thank you so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYNIE13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This soup is really good, although I thought it tasted better hot. It was easy to make, though, and it's very pretty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States