Jacky's Fruit and Yogurt Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
For some reason I get 24 muffins out of this recipe and I've made it twice. The first time I used diced, canned peaches. The batter was thick but not doughy because the peaches added some liquid and the muffins rose a lot when baking. They had nice, tall crowns. Texture was great (moist and tender) but the flavor was kind of bland to me. The second time, I made blueberry muffins and added 2 teaspoons lemon extract in addition to the vanilla . I knew the batter would be thick so waited to stir them in until the dry and wet ingredients were sufficiently combined. This time the batter was really, REALLY thick and more like dough, as others have described. My muffins rose some but did not get the tall domes. They however taste great and the texture, again, is very nice. I adore lemons and the lemon extract really improved the flavor I think. What I will probably do next time I make the muffins with blueberries or another fruit that doesn't contribute a lot of liquid is add a couple tablespoons of water to the dough so they have taller crowns. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made the recipe almost as written, except for the amount of sugar included. Love this recipe in general-- the consistency of the muffins is fantastic, and I love that it uses up the random extra yogurt I usually have. But it is WAY too sweet! I doubled the recipe & put in 1 1/2 cups of sugar & it still tastes sweeter than cake. Next time, I'll make this with lemon zest, plain yogurt & cranberries and cut the sugar even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I used a whole container of fresh strawberries (coarsely chopped) and strawberry yogurt (2% milk fat) instead of blueberry. I chose to use canola oil instead of butter and added a generous splash of milk to help the batter come together a little better. Moist and full of fruit these were good, but missing a little something to really bring it together. A spice? Maybe. These could easily be adapted into a healthier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These were pretty good. I used vanilla yogurt and the last of a bag of frozen strawberries. The kids loved them! Definitely not my favorite muffin ever, but still good. I usually try to make things healthier, but I followed this recipe as-is. I made 12 muffins, but I could have probably made closer to 16 - they were huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
MY HUSBAND; "I CANT' STOP EATING THESE!!!" AND HE'S NOT AN OBSESSIVE EATER LIKE I AM!! I USED LITE YOGURT W/LESS SUGAR AND SPLENDA AS HE'S DIABETIC. EXCELLENT, MOIST, FULL OF BLUEBERRIES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I love blueberry muffins but I never eat them because of the calories and fat. I was so excited to find this recipe. I made this exactly as written but like others I had to add a couple tablespoons of milk just to get the flour to incorporate. (The batter was thicker than cookie dough) They came out extremely dense and moist with a fairly flat, sticky top. I would've liked them to be a little less moist and dense but they were pretty good and I will make again. Since I was the only one eating them, I froze some and they do freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I had some problems with these muffins. I had to add extra water because I couldn't get all my flour absorbed. But then when they came out, I admit that they were delicious, but they were so moist that it wasn't really a muffin. The cooked muffins would stick to your fingers, so it was a bit strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S. Payne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lund, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I an truly puzzled by the pictures of these blueberry muffins on the website. The muffins look cream coloured with the blueberries sprinked throughout. I don't know how this is possible using this recipe! The batter is very stiff and dry (even though I doubled the yogurt) and you have to stir it ALOT to get the flour incorporated. The end result is purple batter and of course purple muffins!! BUT.....are they ever good! I make many kinds of muffins (as my husband loves them) and this is among the best I have ever tried. I was tempted to throw the batter into the garbage when I saw how stiff and dry it was; I was sure I had done something wrong. But I am really glad that I didn't because they are superb. Moist and tender with an excellent blueberry taste. I will be making these often. Thanks, Jacky (whoever you are).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Really tasty and healthy muffins. Easy to make, too. :) My healthy/taste subs: 1 cup AP and 1 cup WW flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup fat-free blueberry yogurt, 4 Tbsp oil, 3 tsp vanilla extract. Other kitchen subs: additional 2 tsp baking soda because I had no baking powder. Topped with streusel made of: 5 Tbsp brown sugar, 2 Tbsp AP flour, broken pecans, 2 Tbsp butter. Baked as instructed and it yielded 12 regular muffins. Be warned, though, that the combined muffin mix is VERY THICK! Out of curiosity I did NOT add any extra milk or liquids to the mixture... and they turned out fine! Muffins rose as expected, plus they looked + tasted great (very fruity, but not excessively sweet/unhealthy, which is what I dislike about the ones in coffee shops). A+ in my books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This recipe is so easy to make. My husband loves blueberry muffins, but comlains about not having enough blueberries in them. There was no complaining with these muffins. I added a couple more tablespoons of yogurt to mixup the dry ingredients better. These beat anything you could ever buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States