Jack's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My, oh my! Husband told me to stop taking a photo of it and eat it because he thinks it's the best French toast he'd ever had! I was thinking maybe other reviewers had soggy toast because of the type of bread they used, and the amount of milk called for. I used French bread and a little more egg and less milk than called for. I also made sure my oil was really hot so the bread would fry in it, not just soak it up. I made a little blueberry sauce to top it off-just delish! Hubby rates it "Five stars and two thumbs up!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This is the way my dad made french toast when I was a kid. This is the best. I love the crunchiness. Not mushy like most french toast. This is my favorite french toast. I use lots of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This is a really good recipe. I usually never give review, but I really like this recipe. Simple ingredients that were all on hand and quick to make. I would, however, recommend that you should only make this if you have a deep fryer. I haven't tried making it on a frying pan but it would probably be messy (as one reviewer mention). I added a little nutmeg and cinnimon to my mix, I cut my toast into halves, diagonally, and then batter. I fried for about 3mins each side and then flip. They all turned out perfect. I had no problems. I gave some to my neighbor who loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I tried this recipe out, and it didn't turn out as good as I hoped. I don't have a deep fryer, so I just put the oil in a pan. It was very messy, and the french toast absorbed too much oil. I think that this recipe probably would be good if I had a deep fryer, but since I don't won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I used margarine, not a whole cup but a tbs. per slice. Next time I might add a little sugar to the egg milk mixture. I also added a 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. All in all it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was a good french toast recipe. I cut down on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Great Recipe!! Alittle greasy though. I dipped the bread in corn fliakes after the milk and egg then fried them came out great with a nice crunchy taste.... For sure use this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This recipe was not fun to cook at all. Oil splattered everywhere. But I must admit, it was a great twist, if you dont mind your food a little on the greasy side (you can blot most the grease out). I used wheat bread, so I dont know what it's like w/white or texas toast. Prob way better! Have a go at it if you dont mind the greasy mess you'll have to clean up afterward! (Suggest a grease-splatter cover)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I found that 1 cup of oil for frying was too much at least for the first batch.....my son enjoyed the crispy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
here are only a FEW of the problems wrong with this recipe *the center was all mushy,i cook for fun (this was no fun at all) the heat was too high, (anyone that dares to make this ,use less oil and heat,) i dont reccommend this. i hope i have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States