Jack's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
These are the best chocolate chip oatmeal cookies ever! I used salted European butter and added about 1/2 cup more flour to the recipe and they turned out AWESOME. I made the batter one evening, chilled it and baked the next day. They are chocolatey with soft middles and firm around the edges. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I just pulled up this recipe to make it again and realized that I only used 1/2 cup of butter the first time and they were fantastic. Obviously a very forgiving recipe and my kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I only had salted butter on hand so I used that. I ran my oats through the food processor for a finer consistancy. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. My cookies were done at just over ten minutes, not quite eleven but not exactly ten. My husband was skeptical of the oats in his beloved chocolate chip cookies (he's a bit of a cookie purist) but he thought these were tasty, as did my kids. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Delightfully sweet, chewy and crispy. Unusually and pleasantly light and airy. Maybe just a little TOO sweet for me but Hubs, I'm sure, will appreciate that and "eat them till he gets sick," a phrase he uses when he really likes something. I made no big changes - just used salted butter and omitted the walnuts. A very respectable cookie, but not extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Yikes. I chill cookie dough before baking to help them stand up better, but these were beyond help. I've never had cookies spread so thin. At first I thought I did something wrong, then I looked closer at the reviews. With my last sheet, I made the cookies larger and they sat up a little better. Nonetheless, I thought they were too sweet and crunchy in the wrong sort of way. I recommend "Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies" from this site. especially if you chill the dough a couple hours before baking, and add an extra 1/4 to 1/2 cup of flour. They're not picture-perfect either, but they stand up better than these, and aren't so sweet or toasty/crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MESIII
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These are VERY good. I do think the bigger they are the better. I used an ice cream scoop to make mine and baked them for 15-16 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MESIII

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Tinmouth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This cookie is awesome - as usual - couple of changes - 1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c, crisco and I used 2 T of buttermilk! Wow - they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I gave 3 stars because they're sweet and chocolatey -- how bad can that be?! They're just not great. The original toll house recipe is better. In fact, I think the original oatmeal cookie recipe would be better and just add choc chips instead of raisins. I'm having trouble understanding all the 5 star ratings. I guess people have a need to believe that they've found something great after spending time making it. They're not bad, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tina
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Please use ONLY unsalted butter in this recipe ! Use parchment paper on cookies sheets.. If you alter the recipe .. please don't expect great results. Most of usunlike the cook's illustrated are not food engineers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
My husband has eaten THIRTY of these since last night! These are his new favorite. I made them with only 1 bag of choc. chips and half the walnuts the recipe called for and they turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States