Jack's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This really is the best cookie recipe I've ever made. I had made over 100 different ones. I too, omit the milk and grind up the oatmeal in the food processor. PERFECTION. And to think I only saved this recipe because my son's name is in the title! What a find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacksmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This recipe was totally frustrating! I usually don't give bad reviews, but I didn't like this recipe at all. Cookies went flat like others warned, so I expected that. But what I didn't expect was trying to get crispy-edged, gloppy-middle cookies off the cookie sheet. What a mess! Once the cookies cooled, IF you could get them to the rack in one piece they stiffened up enough. And, I'm quite enjoying eating them today - so they have really good flavour. BUT, I can't say I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very chewy and rich. I made some changes though, used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup applesauce instead of 1 cup butter and I cooked mine as bar cookies in a 9x13 pan. baked at 350 for 40 minutes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These were absolutely great! Instead of just pouring the oats in, I ground them to a chunky flour in my food processor. I also used milk chocolate chips and caramel pieces, which resulted in a chocolatey, nutty, toffee-studded cookie. Fantastic! My whole team adored them. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Honestly, I have no idea how anyone has problems with this recipe. I have made it dozens of times and it has never failed me, from the very first time I made it. I will use salted butter, unsalted butter, doesn't matter. I have made these cookies vegan many times (I use flax instead of eggs and vegan margarine and soymilk), I often use whole wheat flour instead of regular flour, I will use brown sugar instead of white, I even substituted the oats for bran, and every time this recipe comes out perfect...chewy and sweet and full of chocolate. If it doesn't work for you, then you're fired. Honestly, this recipe is a no-brainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Not the best, but good. You have to be very careful on the baking time as it is easy for the sugar to melt out. The batches I timed well were good and better the next day. I think I will keep trying others, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
It was good, but too crispy for our family. Still looking for that chewy cookie (minus the shortening!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
OH MY!!!!!! Great cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrCookiePR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
i have made this recipe over and over, always get lots of kudos. i do, however, use half the amount of sugar and chocolate chips and i tend to go a bit heavier on the walnuts than the recipe calls for, and with the oatmeal you almost feel like its a healthy snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seattle cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
these are soo good! i omit the milk alltogether. they still come out alittle thin, but they are very tasty! i especially love the oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States