Jackie's Spinach and Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was really good- quick (gotta love that) and tasty. The dressing is a nice balance of flavors yet simple. I used less oil (a little over 1/8c) and it was great. Also used shredded cheese because I had some on hand and chopped rather than sliced my Cameo apple(not GS- a good fresh Cameo is the BEST) and completely forgot the walnuts. It was all good anyhow :) Could play w/ salad ingredients and still have it be tasty. A fast, nice change to encourge our spinach usage. We will be enjoying this again and again as is and w/ variations. Thanks for sharing your recipe Caramommy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This salad is delicious! I made it for a potluck dinner, and it was a big hit, especially with me. I went home and made another batch of the dressing, and I have been eating this salad (without the cheese-I just lost 12 pounds, and would like to keep it off)at least three days a week since. The dressing is just great-different-not too tangy, not too sweet. I just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Very nice combination of flavors. I contributed this salad to Christmas Eve dinner, and the adults seemed to really like it. I will make this again. However, despite the almost "caramel apple-y" flavor, the kids seemed a little put off by the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
An interesting flavor combination.. very tasty and tangy! I used Red Delicious apples and shredded cheese because it's what I had on hand. I think I may omit the cheese next time because I don't think it's necessary and just adds fat and calories. A great way to get spinach in your diet.. along with Jerry Lynne's Spinach and Strawberry Salad from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I am not a salad person, but I LOVE this salad! You might try serving the cheese, nuts, and apples on the side, because they all fall to the bottom of the serving bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I will give this 10 stars! One of the best tasting, simplest salads ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Thought this salad was rather bland and didn't much care for the dressing. I liked the idea of blending spinach with apples...next time I might try pears instead, add red onion and use a raspberry vinaigrette in place of the maple/cider vinegar/olive oil concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
An excellent fall salad. I couldn't think of a better way to serve spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ken Heffner
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was very good a nice change of pace. Since I'm low carb, I made raspberry vinaigrette to use instead of the maple syrup. The apples and spinach worked very well together. The walnuts added a nice crunch also. I think I'll use a different cheese than cheddar next time. I like goat cheese or Feta in salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
When I do not have spinach I will use romaine which works just as well. I have added thinly sliced red onion and some crumbled bacon for a touch of saltly flavor. The dressing is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States