Jackie's Spinach and Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Ken Heffner
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was very good a nice change of pace. Since I'm low carb, I made raspberry vinaigrette to use instead of the maple syrup. The apples and spinach worked very well together. The walnuts added a nice crunch also. I think I'll use a different cheese than cheddar next time. I like goat cheese or Feta in salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
An excellent fall salad. I couldn't think of a better way to serve spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Thought this salad was rather bland and didn't much care for the dressing. I liked the idea of blending spinach with apples...next time I might try pears instead, add red onion and use a raspberry vinaigrette in place of the maple/cider vinegar/olive oil concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I will give this 10 stars! One of the best tasting, simplest salads ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I am not a salad person, but I LOVE this salad! You might try serving the cheese, nuts, and apples on the side, because they all fall to the bottom of the serving bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
An interesting flavor combination.. very tasty and tangy! I used Red Delicious apples and shredded cheese because it's what I had on hand. I think I may omit the cheese next time because I don't think it's necessary and just adds fat and calories. A great way to get spinach in your diet.. along with Jerry Lynne's Spinach and Strawberry Salad from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Very nice combination of flavors. I contributed this salad to Christmas Eve dinner, and the adults seemed to really like it. I will make this again. However, despite the almost "caramel apple-y" flavor, the kids seemed a little put off by the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This salad is delicious! I made it for a potluck dinner, and it was a big hit, especially with me. I went home and made another batch of the dressing, and I have been eating this salad (without the cheese-I just lost 12 pounds, and would like to keep it off)at least three days a week since. The dressing is just great-different-not too tangy, not too sweet. I just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was really good- quick (gotta love that) and tasty. The dressing is a nice balance of flavors yet simple. I used less oil (a little over 1/8c) and it was great. Also used shredded cheese because I had some on hand and chopped rather than sliced my Cameo apple(not GS- a good fresh Cameo is the BEST) and completely forgot the walnuts. It was all good anyhow :) Could play w/ salad ingredients and still have it be tasty. A fast, nice change to encourge our spinach usage. We will be enjoying this again and again as is and w/ variations. Thanks for sharing your recipe Caramommy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States