It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I have used this recipe many times and have even won my companies Chili Cook Off with it. I do make some edits though. I don't use the tomato sauce or tomato juice. I substitute Bloody Mary mix, Southwest salsa, and some tomato paste. I double the sugar and also add garlic. I also cut the chili powder by a 1/3. My last batch I added roasted red peppers and it tasted pretty good. Lastly, I have been using the frozen chopped onions and peppers because it is easier and I haven't noticed a difference in taste. This is my favorite chili recipe. Thanks, George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Great base chili recipe! I followed the modifications recommended by other reviewers and WOW! is this fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Add 2 tsp cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is the best!!!!! Big hit with my family! Perfect blend of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Made this today for the wife. Only change I made was doubling the kidney beans as the wife dislikes pinto beans. This became an instant family favorite. Will surely make this again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Mackay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrattsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
It never thickens and is more like a runny soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nat Joe Christensen
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I broke the cardinal rule of cooking only trusted recipes to feed guests, and in my case 50 people, and I took a gamble and it turned out great! Thankyou for sharing your recipe and for everyone who voted and commented. I tweaked it just a little because my mother in law knows a-lot about good food, and she recommended I add some tomato diced with green chilies. Oh and my husband lives black beans so we added some of those too. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Yummo! Awesome! The only thing I added was a large can of chopped tomatoes and half a yellow onion, three small jalapenos seeded. The rest was exact! My only go-to from now on...even my husband loved it stating "I didn't think I liked chili..I could eat this allday long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coal Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I make chili alot (1 particular recipe) but my husband likes this one better and my children really liked it. I usually make a sweet chili that I grew on but this one got high raves by my husband. I took most the suggestions and they were great. I actually only used 1 Ib of hamburger instead of 2 simply because I didn't want to use up that much meat for 1 meal. It was still very meaty. I sauted 1 1/2 cups of mixed white and red onion (it's what I had on hand)in olive oil and added 4 cloves of garlic in the saute. I never used the tomato juice. I only put 2 cans of tomato sauce in and it was perfect. Not too juicy and not too meaty. I did not have pinto beans so I put in 2 cans of kidney beans instead. I also had no green pepper but added a can of diced tomatoes. Per suggestions, I used brown sugar instead of white. I prob. doubled up on all my seasonings. We like things tasty and with a kick so I especially added the cayenne pepper. I served with soup crackers, cheese, and sour cream. I used the crock pot and the flavors mixed so well together. The house smelled wonderful. SUPER easy and will prob. now make this my main chili recipe. THANK YOU GEORGE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I added tiny cubed carrots, celery and half a pepper. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,983) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States