It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great tasting and low sodium with a few changes. My husband has a heart condition and it is hard to find recipes that are not loaded with sodium. At the same time he complains about lack of flavor. I used low sodium tomato juice and low sodium canned tomatoes. I soaked and cooked the beans myself. He actually complimented me on this chili and I liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I added liquid smoke and worstershire sauce and it made it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
It was good chili, I added my own little touch and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This recipe is as good as the Boiler Maker Tailgate Chili with half the work. As indicated in a previous review, you truly can add other tomato products without ruining the chili. I had forgotten the tomato juice and used pasta sauce and diced tomatoes and it tasted great. I also doubled the spices and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made this last night and my husband said it's the best chili so far. I did make a few changes: I substituted a can of petite diced tomatoes for the tomato juice - this made it a little thicker. I also browned the hamburger with 3 cloves of garlic and the chopped onions that the recipe called for. I cut half a jalapeno into tiny pieces and added a bit more cayenne because we like things spicy! I placed everything in the crockpot for 6 hours. Serve with sour cream, green onions,cheese and corn chips. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by May Ng
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Added black beans instead of pinto beans. Also added minced garlic (5 cloves), chili flakes, vinegar (for acidity), 1 can of drained whole corn kernel, 1 whole chopped serrano chili pepper, and half diced red bell pepper. Added chopped tomatoes with juice to make it more hearty. Great taste and crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by May Ng

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LizMilitar
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I submitted a photo, topped on steamed white rice. I halved the recipe, used diced tomatoes, added 2 cloves garlic. Delicious! Thanks George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizMilitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
My husband and I totally enjoyed it. It was a bit thin though. I added another can of kidney beans. Next time, I will decrease the tomato juice and add more peppers and onions. Also, I will brown the ground beef with garlic as another reviewer suggested. All in all, its a tasty and easy basic recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this for a potluck and everyone loved it. I used the modifications suggested by other users: added 1 tsp garlic, 1 tbsp of brown sugar instead of white and used diced tomatoes instead of tomato juice. They said if I entered it in the local chili cook-off, it would win. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
The reason I am giving this a 3 is because I made some changes because of peoples comments. Instead of tomato juice I used bloody mary mix. I also added some chipotle and adobo, 3 cloves garlic, a can of crushed tomatoes, a square of dove dark chocolate and some crushed red pepper flakes. I think this is a good base chili recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,913) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States