It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
As others have mentioned, chili is one of those things that everyone has different ideas about. For me, this chili was just OK. Too much liquid in general and too tomatoey for my taste. I think I would have liked it better without the tomato sauce. I prefer a thicker, spicier chili with more emphasis on the flavor of the meat, beans and spices and less on tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
The first time I made the a few weeks ago, I was out of onions, so I added in a dry onion soup mix. Bad idea! It was too salty. I made it again for a church chili cook-off, this time with real onions, and so far looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
We made it exactly as written with the minor change of omitting the cayenne. (My husband doesn't like spicy.) Very good. Easy and we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Great ! Family loved it, I used 3 lbs of ground turkey not 2lbs of ground beef, and extra cayenne pepper and half spoon of garlic and toped it with shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Best chili recipe by far. I omit green peppers and add more onion and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onken015

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Still one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smiles_JS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This chili was delicious! Just added some shredded cheese on top when serving and threw a few hotdogs in the chili when the chili was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This recipe is soooooo tasty! I nearly doubled the spices and added a can of black beans and about 1/2 bag frozen corn at the end. Most importantly, I substituted tri-tip seared on the George Foreman grill for 15 minutes, cut into 1-1/2 to 2 inch cubes, and I poured the searing juice in as well. Fantastic recipe, especially if you don't appreciate whole tomatoes in your chili. Just simmwr without a lid and the chili turns out thick. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Love It! This recipe is awesome. So many things can be done different for personal preference. I cannot have peppers so I omit those and instead of pinto beans I use light red kidney. I add a large can of diced tomatoes in their juice and still use a small can of tomato sauce. I also use a full amount of tomato juice as we like the extra juice and as you eat it you can add more beans to make it last longer. All the spices are perfect however since we use more liquid I do use 1/4 cayenne pepper and up the chili powder a bit. Always turns out awesome and no mater what it ALL GETS ATE! Love this recipe and will continue to use it for many years to come! For those of you concerned about using cayenne pepper don't be. If you follow the recipe it does keep it very mild and not at all overpowering. You won't regret it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Frances Rees
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I really love this recipe, Last year I won the chili cook off at my husbands squadron. It's a good base to start with, I make a few changes to it. I use 1lb ground beef and 1lb of ground pork. I also use more green peppers, chili powder, and cumin. I like to taste and adjust the flavor. This year I was thinking of how I could enhance it. I fried some thick cut smoked bacon and I added about a cup while it cooked. I also used some of the bacon as a topping. It was a really good idea, the family approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances Rees

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,980) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States