It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
A delicious recipe with a bit of a kick! My substitutions included a smidgen extra cayenne pepper. a can of black beans instead of the pinto beans, and instead of the tomato sauce I used a can of the stewed tomatoes with green chilies. I brought it to share with friends and it was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Boucher

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This chili recipe is one of the best and simplest to make, and it is tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This is a good base recipe to be used for customization. As is, it's bland and spiceless, like a thick spaghetti sauce with beans. The texture is nice, so adding spice is a must as well as your prefered veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I tend to take recipes and make them my own so that being said the only thing I changed about this one was substituting red pepper for the green and adding a few dashes of Frank's red hot for extra heat, I would have preferred the chili to be a little thicker so next time i make this i will try two cans of tomato sauce instead of one tomato sauce, one tomato juice. My family likes to put a corn bread muffin at the bottom of the bowl before scooping in chili and this recipe was great for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoni Colyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
bomb! added diced tomatoes & used seasoning salt instead of salt. added hot links as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Que Sosa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Have made this chili several times now and everyone loves it! I left out the tomato juice and replaced that with another can of sauce. I also added some crushed red pepper. very good recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Great chili! Used V8 & a can of diced tomatoes in place of tomato juice. It was great & my family loved it. Will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I make a vegan version of this that's delicious. I use all of the same seasonings but double up on everything but the chili powder and cayenne (as noted in another review). Replace the beef with beef replacement crumbles. I like a chunkier, thicker chili so I also replace the tomato juice with 2 cans of diced tomatoes. I add in a little vegan worcestershire, a dash of liquid smoke, a can of black beans (makes it three bean chili) and sometimes a bag of frozen corn. It's delicious every time for a healthier version of this chili for vegans and non vegans alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Made a double batch and off I went to the party. Easy to make. Great taste. Everyone raved about this wonderful chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
All 10 servings was gone before i could try some of it, but i was told it was amazing!!! I followed some of the other reviews and didn't add the tomato juice but did add in a can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,983) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States