It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Excellent chili!! Tastes just like Wendy's and even better. Love how easy it was to prepare and cook. I will definitely be making this again more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Unfortunately I only have extra-super-mega-spicy chilli powder so I tried leaving it out of the recipe and using 1/4 cup of cayenne pepper powder instead. Now I have an almost inedibly-spicy bland 8 litres of food. Not the recipe's fault but be careful when improvising. I have ruined countless batches of chilli by deviating from the recipe even in the slightest. I can't believe how sensitive chilli can be to exact amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great tasting and low sodium with a few changes. My husband has a heart condition and it is hard to find recipes that are not loaded with sodium. At the same time he complains about lack of flavor. I used low sodium tomato juice and low sodium canned tomatoes. I soaked and cooked the beans myself. He actually complimented me on this chili and I liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I added liquid smoke and worstershire sauce and it made it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
It was good chili, I added my own little touch and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This recipe is as good as the Boiler Maker Tailgate Chili with half the work. As indicated in a previous review, you truly can add other tomato products without ruining the chili. I had forgotten the tomato juice and used pasta sauce and diced tomatoes and it tasted great. I also doubled the spices and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made this last night and my husband said it's the best chili so far. I did make a few changes: I substituted a can of petite diced tomatoes for the tomato juice - this made it a little thicker. I also browned the hamburger with 3 cloves of garlic and the chopped onions that the recipe called for. I cut half a jalapeno into tiny pieces and added a bit more cayenne because we like things spicy! I placed everything in the crockpot for 6 hours. Serve with sour cream, green onions,cheese and corn chips. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by May Ng
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Added black beans instead of pinto beans. Also added minced garlic (5 cloves), chili flakes, vinegar (for acidity), 1 can of drained whole corn kernel, 1 whole chopped serrano chili pepper, and half diced red bell pepper. Added chopped tomatoes with juice to make it more hearty. Great taste and crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by May Ng

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LizMilitar
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I submitted a photo, topped on steamed white rice. I halved the recipe, used diced tomatoes, added 2 cloves garlic. Delicious! Thanks George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizMilitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
My husband and I totally enjoyed it. It was a bit thin though. I added another can of kidney beans. Next time, I will decrease the tomato juice and add more peppers and onions. Also, I will brown the ground beef with garlic as another reviewer suggested. All in all, its a tasty and easy basic recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States