It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Great recipe...I made a couple changes first I used ground bison instead of beef and I mixed 1t of onion powder and garlic powder with the meat while it cooked. I swapped the tomato juice for diced tomatoes so you get a little bulk withthe juice, used kosher salt instead of table salt and brown sugar instead of white. I also cooked it in the slow cooker all day whIle at work...yummy yummy and will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
It is a great recipe for chili in the crock pot! I have never had all the listed ingredients...so I improvised & substituted! Awesome base recipe!!! I made it for Christmas evening & it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Schinagel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Crushed tomatoes instead of tomato juice, plus 15 oz diced tomatoes. Brown sugar instead of white - about 1/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is my go-to chili recipe from now on! Made it for a party & everyone raved about it!!! I didnt use as much tomato juice but added canned crushed tomatoes because I love chunks of tomatoes in my chili. So delicious!!! We do our chili served over rice & topped with shredded cheddar cheese, chopped green onions, sour cream, sriracha and a piece of corn bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was awesome! Nice little spice kick with the exact spices from the ingredient list. Not unbearable spice -just right. I decided to omit the pinto beans because my other half isn't too keen on beans-(the kidney beans were suffice!!) I also added taco seasoning mix & garlic for extra flavor! I would suggest lessening the amount of tomato juice-it was a bit runny-overall it was fantastic. The smell & taste aligned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very bland and really wattery. Ill stick with my own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ontaya Glenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Recipe is great! The only addition I made was to add some smoked paprika (about 2 teaspoons) and it put it over the top. I make this often and freeze leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungryfoxes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
mmmm!!! sooo good! i used 33oz can of tomato juice and one 14oz can of diced tomatoes. simmered for 2hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We love the recipe. I sub an extra can of sauce and a large can of diced tomatoes for the juice. Plus I add two diced jalapeños and a little extra cayenne pepper. Gives it a great kick but not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is far too soupy. The tomato flavor from the juice overwhelms a lot of the other flavors as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,946) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States