It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Kids Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was the bomb.com! (-: Maybe it was the V8, but this was so delicious. My husband and young children all had second helpings, and so did I. I added 4 cloves of fresh garlic, a fresh chopped tomato, and used liquid cayenne pepper sauce instead of powdered. My Jalepeno cornbread was too spicy but otherwise a nice complement to a great one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I never made this dish before and it made me look like a pro (HUGE HIT). I did have some changes to suit my taste. I substituted the 2 lbs of beef for 1.5 lb of ground turkey and 1 lb of Italian sausage hot/sweet pack(casing removed). I also cooked 2 cups of green peppers and onions with the meat before adding the sauce. Putting 24 ounces of tomato sauce and 8 ounces of diced tomatoes. Added 3 cans of kidney beans (no pinto because I could not find them), extra oregano and sugar. Everything else remained the same. Love this recipe and will be using this in the future. Hubby went back for thirds and my mother called to tell me she had two bowls. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
After trying it the first time, we've changed it to be more to our personal tastes, agreeing with many reviewers that it was too bland. Added chopped garlic, a can of rotel, and instead of tomato juice, Spicy V-8. We also have a pinto bean hater, and use double the kidney instead, and saute the onion with the beef for flavor. This is a great base to try, especially if you've never made homemade chili before. Then make changes until it's perfect for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
The only thing I changed from the recipe was, I added about 1 cup of red bell peppers, I used a 32oz box of tomato soup (instead of the 46oz tomato juice), and i added 2 bouillon cubes. This chili was amazing! It reminded me of the Wendy's chili before they changed their recipe (if they didnt change it then maybe i got a bad batch last time i went) The next time I make these I will omit the beef and add 2 more cans of kidney beans and 1 more can of pinto beans. (Tip: if u dont want the beans to be over cooked and mushy then wait until the chili is done, add the beans and boil it for about 15 mins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I made this for a chili cook-off we had at our church today and I won 1st place. The comment I heard most oten is "it has just the right amount of heat". I made the recipe exactly as posted except I omitted the tomato juice and substituted that with 2 cans of petite diced tomatoes. Thanks for sharing this recipe, George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Good, as most people have said, basic chili recipe. Needs some extras to satisfy my taste. Added a can of petite diced tomatoes and some freeze dried pinto beans with spices found at our local Winco. After that tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Made this recipe for the first time last night in a crockpot. Liked it a lot. However I did make a couple of changes. I omitted the tomato juice, and instead used one 15 oz can of diced tomatoes, I've also increased the sugar to 1 tbsp, omitted the oregano (because I didn't have any) and added a tad more onion. Everyone loved it, and people said it was the best chili they've had. It wasn't the best I've had, but it was good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I Love This Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R-Lean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Best chili ever. Matt adds V8 juice instead of tomato juice. And chili beans in chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States