It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
My family LOVED this!!! It's simple and fast. I omitted the cumin, added paprika instead aand a touch of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
As other have said this is a great base recipe of you're looking to experiment and make it your own. I cut the tomato juice by 1/4-1/3ish. Added one fresh jalapeño, extra cumin, brown sugar vs white and a large dollop of mixed garlic. Still, it tasted a bit too tomato-y so I added about half a serving of beef bullion straight to the mix and it really helped nip that in the bud. Tasted much heartier. Next time I think I will experiment with adding chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Neil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoGuzman0820
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
First time making chili. Amazing. I followed it step by step. So yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
But.... 1/4 cup of chili powder? Can that be right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueskywoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Every one loved this one!! I did cook covered for the first hour the uncovered for the last 30 minutes. Turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Delicious! Being a chili lover I changed it up a bit. Used 1.25 lbs ground beef w/ .67 lbs italian sweet sausage. added 1 can 28 oz diced tomatoes, 1/2 c. celery & 2 cloves garlic (because i had in fridge) and didn't have tomato juice so substituted another 24 oz sauce instead & 1/2 jar leftover salsa (from fridge). Was a little spicy for the ppl who don't do hot stuff (i admit the amount of chili powder looked like a lot); but still rich, hearty, thick and very good. Definitely better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly for the crock pot and loved it. Have made it several times already and will continue to make it again and again. So easy, cost effective, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Other than tomato juice, had all other ingredients on hand (love a recipe like that). Used a can of mixed beans that included pinto beans. This is the best chili I have ever made. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I used this as a basic chili recipe. I substituted ingredients if I didn't have a certain product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Very good! Even with only an hour to cook. I'm sure it will be better tomorrow. I read a lot of reviews before and while cooking. We don't care for tomato juice so I substituted a 10 oz can of Rotel and two 12 oz bottles of hard cider. I scaled the chili powder back to 3 tbspns and upped the cumin to 2 tbspns. I added 2 tsp of chopped garlic while cooking the meat and doubled the pinto beans and added a can of black beans as well (we really like beany chili). At the end I threw in some organic dark chocolate, about the same amount as two Hershey kisses, just for the mellowness. I ate it with a tbspn of sour cream and a sprinkle of Mexican mixed shredded cheese and a green salad with ranch dressing. The spice is now just right for me, but my son added some of our homemade taco seasoning. Oh, and he just came back for another bowl. This recipe has made me rethink a recent decision - I had to replace my old crockpot and because it's only the two of us, I bought a 3 qt. I can see that I will need to get a larger pot. (very big grin!) FYI - a very gluten-free friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,980) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States