It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
For those who think this chili has too much liquid, try adding a can of mashed black beans or a can of refried beans to thicken. Might even use some corn flour or mesa to it. I prefer the mashed beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Best chili ever!!! The whole family loves it! My kids don't like things too spicy, so its perfect, as for the hubby, he just adds a few dashes of cayenne to spice it up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjkienle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This chili was okay, but could not be my favorite! I made it in my slow cooker. It was quite runny (though it thickened up after a couple of days), and the flavor was nothing spectacular. I will keep searching for another chili that I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCheeksGF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Great easy recipe! I'm a beginner cook and this recipe was great. I browned the beef like it said than added it all in my crock pot on high for 4.5 hours and low for about an hour. Used less onion and subbed some onion powder as my husband hates onion and I like them. Also added some sweet corn from a can just because and it tasted great. Has a little kick to it so if you don't like spicy things or even mildly spicy cut back on the cayenne. You could really add whatever veggies you desire like potatoes etc for a great hearty chili. Next time ill be sure to have some corn bread ready to eat with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I use this recipe every time I make chili. I do not add any additional ingredients, just extra cayenne. I love this recipe. I keep tasting it while it cooks. Like most things, it tastes even better the next day. I am really glad I found this recipe. Thank you "George"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Best chili ever!!!! We don't include green peppers and onions because of personal preference, but otherwise it's perfect!!!! We like to serve it with elbow macaroni noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
When I feel like chili, I use this as one of two basic recipes. It is simplistic in nature, which is exactly what you want when making chili. Of course, everyone will season to taste and make it there own, but it will be hard to find a better start, than what you see here. Though, I'm sure you have tweaked it a hundred times by now yourself, good job George and thanks for sharing. Remember readers, when it becomes too gourmet, it ceases to be chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is a good starter recipe. Like many others I tweaked to my preference. I increased the meat and used 2 lbs beef and 1 lb sweet italian sausage, 1 15 oz can baked beans, 1 lg can diced tomatoes, 1 jar home canned tomatoes w/juice, inreased the amount of cummin and oregano, added cilantro, 3 cloves of garlic & 4 beef boullion cubes & worcestershire sauce. Absolutely delicious...My chili was absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Use a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpereira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Been using Georges recipe for years, its always a big hit. Thanks George!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,871) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States