It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Hubs requested chili recently and rather than use my regular recipe, I decided to try this one. I made half the recipe and did make some changes as some other reviewers suggested. I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the tomato juice, one can of kidney beans, and no pinto beans. I did thin it just a bit with a couple of splashes of V-8 juice. I also used 1 T. brown sugar and no white sugar. I would definitely make this again, but I think I’d omit the cumin just as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I have made this so many times and have tried nearly as many others. For my family this is the best because it fits everyone's pallet. Thanks, George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I love this recipe. The only "problem" I have is that it's be tougher in the last year or so to find the canned tomato juice. The only major chain of stores in my part of Los Angeles that carry it is Ralph's. I usually buy a couple when I see it on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGLIAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Did everything the same except half the tomato juice. It was delicious!! Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
The first chili I ever made and it was delicious! Perfect for a beginner and great for a working wife :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Loved this chili!!! delicious!! I followed some suggestions on less tomato juice ( used exactly half) and it was perfect! no more canned chili in this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Zimmerman Simmons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Basically used this recipe in a slow cooker for 6 1/2 hours. But we are garlic people so of course that was a tastey addition. Used only 1lbs of ground chuck. Substituted the other pound for macaroni. My kiddos love the noodles. Added 1 can of fire roasted tomato chunks. Used vegetable juice instead of straight tomatoe juice for the extra health benefits. Used Italian seasoning instead of plain oregano. Added a bit more chili powder. Instead of salt and pepper I also used hamburger seasoning which contains both anyway. Used a bit more cayan than it called for and left out the onion. But all in all a tastey recipe my family definitely loved. Served with homemade cornbread great dinner for a chilly fall evening!! So thanks George!! Double thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
The spices in this recipe are great. I added a bit more cayenne and a dash of onion powder, too. Also, I did as other reviewers suggested, to cook the onions with the meat, to which I added 3 cloves of garlic. (I add garlic to everything) This recipe is a perfect base or as is. Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Everyone enjoyed it. I prefer more kidney beans but thats me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Good basic chili recipe. The only modification I made was to use a 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce and omit the cayenne (so my toddler would eat it). It makes a ton so I will be enjoying it for lunch this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,901) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States