It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Great chilli, made it for a Halloween party in a crockpot (cooking on low for about eight hours), and it was gone within the hour. We reduced the beef (ground sirloin) to 1.5 pounds and added one extra can of kidney beans, and all the comments I received were that it was perfect ration of meat to beans (if you like things really meaty, leave the ratio as written). I doubled all the spices and upped the sugar to 3T of brown sugar. I left out the green pepper because I didn't have one around, and it wasn't missed. For the tomato portion, I'd imagine nearly anything you have in the fridge would work, including salsa. I used four ripe garden tomatoes (from our very last harvest), chopped, and 1 can of tomato paste diluted with 4 cans water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I had never made red chili before and was a little surprised and dubious that it was all tomato based. I took a leap based on the ratings and I'm glad I did. The family enjoyed it for dinner and a couple of lunches afterwards. The fact that it is in the crockpot only adds to this great starter chili recipe. Watch the spice if you are sensitive to heat as my daughter is. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielleDes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
made this the other night, with a few changes due to lack of ingredients on hand. Omitted the tomato juice and sub 2 diced fresh tomatoes. Also subbed chili powered for hot sauce (franks red hot) used amount called for. Didn't have the time to slow cook it, and it came out amazing! definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evelyn
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
It was ok. I don't know not as tasty as I was hoping it would be. I'll have to check other recipes to see how they are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Great flavor the every one liked. I prefer it a bit more spicy so I made a 2nd batch adding 3 blended habanero peppers to the pot...and it was hit at our Halloween gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Nothing spectacular and maybe because I altered the recipe based on other reviews. I omitted the tomato juice and used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and 1 can tomato sauce instead. I also substituted a pound of beef for a pound of sausage,added garlic,green chili and used less chili powder. It's a great base though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
My cousin Tara made this and it was awesome! She added chopped garlic, used ground turkey and added a can of plum tomatoes!!! Yum Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Delicious! Just the right amount of spice and combo of meat & beans. This will be our "go-to" chili recipe from now on. Thank you for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I make this atleast twice a month, It has a great spice to it. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Made this for a tailgate party, bunch of guy's watching football by an outdoor fire pit. I heeded other's input about not using the tomato juice since I wanted it pretty hearty and not to runny. I used 1 15.5oz can of diced tomato and 1 15.5oz can of stewed tomato instead of 46oz of the juice. I had the tomato sauce available but left it out also since as it came together, I was pretty happy with how it looked. Glad I did! The slow cooker method for 8+ hours did wonders bringing this to just the consistency I was looking for even if a little light on tomato. Overall it was a very big hit. I did add double the cumin, cayenne and green bell pepper but that's just personal taste and no fault of a recipe that did a good job of giving me, a non cook,a platform to work from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,885) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States