It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly the first time, and cooked it in the crockpot. That's what I'm giving 4 stars to. I've also altered it: no meat or bell pepper, lots of different beans (garbanzo, pinto, black, navy, etc.). And for more heat, I use Spicy V8 rather than plain tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good recipe . I made it several times .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This turned out really tasty and it was really easy. It did need more beans and spice but its a great chili to make and fix it to the way you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Love this Chili! I have made this several times and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've been using this recipe for a few years now & everyone loves it!!! The only thing I've changed is replacing tomato juice with Zing Zang & adding chopped stewed tomatoes. It's even better the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This has become my Go To base for chili. Of course I always make small changes as I go based on what I have on hand and I have learned that 1/4 cup of chili powder is definitely too much for us. We like about a small non heaping Tbsp of chili powder. I also use diced petite tomatoes and one can of Rotel © to make up the tomato juice because we prefer a thick chili with small prices of tomato throughout. But if you adjust for heat preference and tomato type preference you cannot go wrong with this as your base. I like to add a small shake of cinnamon and a tsp of cocoa at the end of cooking to finish it. My husband adds a splash of vinegar to his bowl and my granddaughter likes sour cream added so you can use this in multiple ways. I also use beans because we like beans in our chili. I prefer one can of chili beans and one can of kidney beans myself and will sometimes add Bushes baked beans in different types depending on what I have in the cabinet. This recipe really is the perfect base for chili & I can always find it due to my dad's name being George! Lol. Thank you George for writing down the perfect base for me to have awesome chili whenever I feel like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Great, EASY recipe! I omitted green peppers and used 2 cans diced tomatoes for the other tomato products (1/2 recipe). Tastes great and my "chili expert" of a husband loves it! We used to use McCormick's seasoning packet and I stopped because I didn't like all the preservatives and who knows what else is in there. This is a perfect substitute and I usually have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Petrucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very good and versatile recipe, easy to tailor perfectly to taste. I use 1 lb beef and an extra can of beans, low sodium spicy V8 and lots of good quality chili powder. It's always dependable and delicious. The V8 juice is such a great shortcut! I've made it at least ten times, it's my go to chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie LaBarba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I use a can of tomato paste and a quart of water in place of the tomato juice though. I also use 1 lb ground beef and 1 lb italian or chorizo sausage sometimes. I make this chili on a regular basis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this for the first time tonight and like others, I replaced the tomato juice with 29oz diced tomatoes. The dish went down a treat with the whole family and is the best chilli recipe I've found so far. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States