It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I love you, George. I added black beans and have used turkey and beef. The turkey was better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Best-chili-ever PERIOD!! Thanks for the recipe, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I made some changes but my family LOVES this recipe. I omit the cumin and add stew meat that I brown before putting it in. I also add double the Kidney beans and pinto beans and also 1 can of black beans. I put two bell peppers and a whole onion and a lot more chili powder. My kids don't like any spice so I either omit the cayenne or put in a tiny tiny bit and then add some to my bowl separately. House smells great and it's a terrific dinner when all our schedules have us eating at different times. Hubby makes a terrific honey cornbread to go with it. Yum. Thanks for the starter recipe - made some changes that customized it to my fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I'm from NM, so I tailored recipe to our local taste: added garlic; 4oz chopped jar/canned green chili, used small diced pork pieces instead of ground beef [browned/drained], & coarsely chopped celery. Omitted the tomato juice, but added ~24oz of can chopped tomatoes in green chilies w it's juices; 1/2 small can of tomato PASTE. Added only half the amount of tomato sauce in the recipe. Also added 1 can of BLACK beans [rinsed/drained]. 1hr before serving I added 4oz can sweet corn and 1/2c diced zucchini w/skins on. To serve, I topped with chopped fresh cilantro, diced fresh avocado and a dollop of sour cream. Served w JIFFY corn bread made with added green chili & sour cream to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This was SOO easy and came out PERFECT!! It was the first time making chili for my family and so I was a little worried. I went to the store but could not find Cayenne pepper anywhere !!, so I did some looking and found that using 4 drops, (NOT SHAKES, DROPS) of Tabasco was a perfect substitute for the cayenne pepper. Like I said, came out perfect. Not too spicy and definitely not bland either. My whole family started asking the very next day when I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This is the "Wendys" chili recipe that is so easy to make. I have made it numerable times. My son always adds lots of hot sauce! I always add garlic to any chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
instead of tomato juice and tomato sauce, I used salsa right out of the jar, and you can use mild or hot or whatever heat you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I adjust the portion size for my family of 4 and take it easy on the chili powder cuz we like it less spicy but its one of our favorites, for cold weather especially!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Bragole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Excellent Chili Recipe. We have small children so we left out the cayenne pepper and it was still very good. With BEANS just the way Chili should be!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corey C. Caughron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Kind of had to adapt and improvise on this one. My wife doesn't like onions or garlic so I left those out. I used 1/2 the quantity of ground beef, 1/2 the amount of tomato juice and 1/2 of the above amount of chilI powder. I added 1 can (540 ml) of Mexican chili seasoned diced tomatoes. Slow cooked for 9 hours while away at work and came home to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,983) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States