It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly for the crock pot and loved it. Have made it several times already and will continue to make it again and again. So easy, cost effective, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Other than tomato juice, had all other ingredients on hand (love a recipe like that). Used a can of mixed beans that included pinto beans. This is the best chili I have ever made. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I used this as a basic chili recipe. I substituted ingredients if I didn't have a certain product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Very good! Even with only an hour to cook. I'm sure it will be better tomorrow. I read a lot of reviews before and while cooking. We don't care for tomato juice so I substituted a 10 oz can of Rotel and two 12 oz bottles of hard cider. I scaled the chili powder back to 3 tbspns and upped the cumin to 2 tbspns. I added 2 tsp of chopped garlic while cooking the meat and doubled the pinto beans and added a can of black beans as well (we really like beany chili). At the end I threw in some organic dark chocolate, about the same amount as two Hershey kisses, just for the mellowness. I ate it with a tbspn of sour cream and a sprinkle of Mexican mixed shredded cheese and a green salad with ranch dressing. The spice is now just right for me, but my son added some of our homemade taco seasoning. Oh, and he just came back for another bowl. This recipe has made me rethink a recent decision - I had to replace my old crockpot and because it's only the two of us, I bought a 3 qt. I can see that I will need to get a larger pot. (very big grin!) FYI - a very gluten-free friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I have two chili's that I make. This one for quick and easy but still tastes great and a different one for hearty and meaty. SO if you are looking for just a simple good tasting chili this one is great. Also, follow the recipe don't tinker. whenever I follow it exactly it tastes great, If I tinker...well its always missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Wasn't our favorite although we did substitute some of the tomato juice with vegetable juice because we didn't have enough. Was too blame and boring. We'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Like it a little hotter so I add extra cayenne pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
My family loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Great recipie. I read other reviews and added some of the suggest items like cocoa powder, extra cayenne. I also added 2 tbs of corn meal about 10 minutes before done cooking. It helps thicken it. Just before serving I threw in a can of whole kernel corn! Yummy! Thanks George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Excellent chili!! Tastes just like Wendy's and even better. Love how easy it was to prepare and cook. I will definitely be making this again more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States