It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was awesome! Nice little spice kick with the exact spices from the ingredient list. Not unbearable spice -just right. I decided to omit the pinto beans because my other half isn't too keen on beans-(the kidney beans were suffice!!) I also added taco seasoning mix & garlic for extra flavor! I would suggest lessening the amount of tomato juice-it was a bit runny-overall it was fantastic. The smell & taste aligned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very bland and really wattery. Ill stick with my own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Recipe is great! The only addition I made was to add some smoked paprika (about 2 teaspoons) and it put it over the top. I make this often and freeze leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungryfoxes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
mmmm!!! sooo good! i used 33oz can of tomato juice and one 14oz can of diced tomatoes. simmered for 2hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We love the recipe. I sub an extra can of sauce and a large can of diced tomatoes for the juice. Plus I add two diced jalapeños and a little extra cayenne pepper. Gives it a great kick but not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is far too soupy. The tomato flavor from the juice overwhelms a lot of the other flavors as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Daughter didn't like, but hubby and I did. Made enough to make 2 freezer packs for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My BF made this for me the other day. He was going to follow it exactly, but I was the one who asked him not to put 1/4 cup of chili powder in it because it seemed like way too much for my taste, and I was right. He only used like 2 tbsp. I believe, and it was more than enough for us. Two cans of beans wasn't enough, so he added two more cans and it still came out a little watery, so next time we will cut back on the tomato juice some. Otherwise, we really liked it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made this for a potluck and it was a hit! I doubled all spices except cayenne and chili powder. Omitted the tomato juice and used 30oz of diced tomatoes with its juices instead. Cooked the beef with garlic, green bell pepper and onion before putting in crock pot. Cooked for 6 hours on low, then kept the pot on warm for another 12 hours until it was served. A perfectly spicy chili that was thick and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Yummy! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States