It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've been using this recipe for a few years now & everyone loves it!!! The only thing I've changed is replacing tomato juice with Zing Zang & adding chopped stewed tomatoes. It's even better the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This has become my Go To base for chili. Of course I always make small changes as I go based on what I have on hand and I have learned that 1/4 cup of chili powder is definitely too much for us. We like about a small non heaping Tbsp of chili powder. I also use diced petite tomatoes and one can of Rotel © to make up the tomato juice because we prefer a thick chili with small prices of tomato throughout. But if you adjust for heat preference and tomato type preference you cannot go wrong with this as your base. I like to add a small shake of cinnamon and a tsp of cocoa at the end of cooking to finish it. My husband adds a splash of vinegar to his bowl and my granddaughter likes sour cream added so you can use this in multiple ways. I also use beans because we like beans in our chili. I prefer one can of chili beans and one can of kidney beans myself and will sometimes add Bushes baked beans in different types depending on what I have in the cabinet. This recipe really is the perfect base for chili & I can always find it due to my dad's name being George! Lol. Thank you George for writing down the perfect base for me to have awesome chili whenever I feel like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Great, EASY recipe! I omitted green peppers and used 2 cans diced tomatoes for the other tomato products (1/2 recipe). Tastes great and my "chili expert" of a husband loves it! We used to use McCormick's seasoning packet and I stopped because I didn't like all the preservatives and who knows what else is in there. This is a perfect substitute and I usually have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Petrucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very good and versatile recipe, easy to tailor perfectly to taste. I use 1 lb beef and an extra can of beans, low sodium spicy V8 and lots of good quality chili powder. It's always dependable and delicious. The V8 juice is such a great shortcut! I've made it at least ten times, it's my go to chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie LaBarba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I use a can of tomato paste and a quart of water in place of the tomato juice though. I also use 1 lb ground beef and 1 lb italian or chorizo sausage sometimes. I make this chili on a regular basis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this for the first time tonight and like others, I replaced the tomato juice with 29oz diced tomatoes. The dish went down a treat with the whole family and is the best chilli recipe I've found so far. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a great traditional chilli recipe-. It's easy and is good for Frito pie orover hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Tasted to much like tomato juice. I only used 1/3 of the bottle and added diced tomatoes to keep liquid content down. good base like some have noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Excellent, at first I thought it was too watery but it was delicious, I prefer about "medium" spice and I had to add a little extra cayenne pepper. my and my boys liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Perfect ... I just adjusted for a bit more hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,896) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States