It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Not only was this chili recipe delicious and better than the one I curently use, the aroma emanating from the crock during a cold and snowy winter day was a pleasant addition. I added mushrooms and hot sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This chili is no joke ! It's the real deal, made just as directed and came out perfect . Best chili I have tasted in a while .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
So easy & tasty. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
fed it to crowd they loved it. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I substituted the 46 fl. oz. can of tomato juice with: 2 cans diced tomatoes and 1 can (16 oz) tomato sauce. The chili was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Just like other reviewers, I played around with this. I doubled all spices except the chili powder, added two adobo chilis in their sauce, and left out the green pepper (just don't like it). VERY yummy. Serve it over macaroni, and I always add a little shredded cheddar. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Jay Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Really, really easy recipe. I can't say that I measured everything out, but did use all the ingredients at approximately the prescribed amounts. (Only used 1 pound ground beef, though.) REALLY fantastic result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Usually, I just hate when people review recipes when they haven't followed them in the least, and instead they are really just posting their own recipe in a "review". However, when it comes to chili, sometimes that's what you have to do. It's just one of those dishes where anything can go into it, and you have room to play. I was looking for a mild crowd pleasing chili for a family that I'm bringing a meal to, and they have kids, so I knew it couldn't be a spicy chili. I saw this one and it looked like it fit the bill, so decided to try it. Like other reviewers, I didn't have any tomato juice, so I used canned diced tomatoes in place of the juice. And if you sub out the juice, then you need to add some salt to the mix. I also added one finely chopped jalepeno pepper for some kick, and instead of the pinto beans, I added two cans of mild chili beans. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Even with the jalepeno, it's quite mild. I think it's missing something, but it could be because I used the canned tomatoes instead of the tomato juice? So, I can't really rate it fairly because of that, but it is good. I wouldn't put a "wow" anywhere in the description, but you definitely can't go wrong with this, so at least you won't get any "yucks" either. Next time I'll try it exactly as written, juice and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
A basic, really good, chili recipe. I only add a tad of hot sauce to give some good heat. ---wifey doesn't like the heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Really good base recipe. I used just a SMIDGE less chili powder because my family is not a fan of super-spicy food and I wanted to play it safe. Came out great, a bit of a bite without being overwhelming. Could definitely adjust flavors to your tastes, but this is a great basic recipe to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States