It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I tend to take recipes and make them my own so that being said the only thing I changed about this one was substituting red pepper for the green and adding a few dashes of Frank's red hot for extra heat, I would have preferred the chili to be a little thicker so next time i make this i will try two cans of tomato sauce instead of one tomato sauce, one tomato juice. My family likes to put a corn bread muffin at the bottom of the bowl before scooping in chili and this recipe was great for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoni Colyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
bomb! added diced tomatoes & used seasoning salt instead of salt. added hot links as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Que Sosa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Have made this chili several times now and everyone loves it! I left out the tomato juice and replaced that with another can of sauce. I also added some crushed red pepper. very good recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Great chili! Used V8 & a can of diced tomatoes in place of tomato juice. It was great & my family loved it. Will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I make a vegan version of this that's delicious. I use all of the same seasonings but double up on everything but the chili powder and cayenne (as noted in another review). Replace the beef with beef replacement crumbles. I like a chunkier, thicker chili so I also replace the tomato juice with 2 cans of diced tomatoes. I add in a little vegan worcestershire, a dash of liquid smoke, a can of black beans (makes it three bean chili) and sometimes a bag of frozen corn. It's delicious every time for a healthier version of this chili for vegans and non vegans alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Made a double batch and off I went to the party. Easy to make. Great taste. Everyone raved about this wonderful chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
All 10 servings was gone before i could try some of it, but i was told it was amazing!!! I followed some of the other reviews and didn't add the tomato juice but did add in a can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Great base recipe. Used diced tomatoes instead of tomato juice. Cooked on the stove, I doubled the amount of cayenne and chili powder, I also seasoned the meat with garlic powder, onion powder, and seasoned salt. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRIL R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Love this recipe! I've been making this for years. I changed it slightly as suggested by other reviewers by using brown sugar instead of white and used Rotel and diced tomatoes instead of tomato juice. I've made this chili on the stove top and also in the crockpot. Both come out awesome! This is the only chili recipe I use and friends ask for the recipe when they have it! Very easy to make. It's awesome! Thanks, George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This chili is amazing! My husband and I are on a "healthy kick" so I made it with ground turkey (which I am not usually a fan of...at all) and it was wonderful. I can only imagine how good it would be with beef! 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,980) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States