It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this recipe this morning and it turned out great! I did make a few modifications after reading some of the reviews. I added 1 tsp of garlic and only added half of the required tomato juice and replaced with some homemade salsa and stewed tomatoes for thickness. I served mine with garlic toast with a handful of sharp cheddar over the chili! I agree with many of the other reviews that this is a recipe that should be tampered with to serve your individual preferences on thickness/spices etc. But a great base to start with! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beener
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was my first time making chili. I thought it was a great recipe. It tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beener

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
It's a good base to start with, I add more spices and a lot more green peppers. If I have left over yellow and red peppers then I add them. I also add a can of chopped tomatoes. Thanks for sharing George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This chili recipe has become the go to chili recipe in my household. It's absolutely fantastic! The only thing I change is add some chopped tomato to the mix just because I like that. Otherwise, perfect. I normally make a batch and freeze them in single serve containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Wow was this good! I did not add 1/4 cup of chili powder, partially because i was out but also becuase it would have made it too spicy. I probably would have only added 2 T. Other than that, to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I love it! It isn't bean heavy or have chunky tomatoes in it. The only change I made was using 6 (5.5 oz)cans of tomato juice. Absolutely a make again recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I have made this numerous times this winter and love it. Good balance flavor, and is easy. I used vegetable juice instead of tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
After making yet another pot of this delicious recipe tonight, I knew I needed to post. I searched for years for a good, solid recipe that appealed to my entire family (kids, husband and grandparents). This is a clear favorite by all. I make mine in the crock pot and let it simmer for 6+ hours. It's a favorite. Thanks George!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is a savory, delicious yet simple chili recipe. My boyfriend is from Texas and takes his chili very seriously. He absolutely loved it. Since I went the stove top route, I used less tomato juice (about a quarter less). I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzisixx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,871) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States