It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Only change I make when I use this is used either canned whole plum tomatoes in place of the juice, or canned diced tomatoes. It's by far the best chili I have tasted. Got 3rd place at a chili cook off with this, and I was out of chili 2 hours before it was over(peoples choice). I love this more than any other chili! I add extra onion and green pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
The best recipe for chili out there. Love the bell peppers. My only regret is not doubling the recipe from the start because everyone wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This was a hit in our house. My only mistake was making 6 servings instead of 10! I followed the spicing exactly but added the following 1 TB yellow mustard, 1 teas worcheshire sauce, 1/2 teas garlic powder. I also subbed crushed tomatoes for the tomato sauce as we like a thicker chili. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
nOT SPICY ENOUGH FOR OUR TASTE AS IS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I am not what you would call skilled in the kitchen. My husband is the cook in the family, but I've been trying to step it up and do my part lately. I've tried this a few times and it has been a hit with my 2 year old, 5 year old and outspoken husband. :) It's great for the kids, as it's not spicy, hubby can add his spice to it on the plate, everyone is happy. This is one that will stay in my folder for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
OMG!!! This has got to be the best chili I have ever had and the first I have made. I did make some modifications that werked for me. First I added aboot 3 1/4 pounds of ground beef and 1 pound of ground hot sausage (no casing). I added seasoning to taste while cooking the meat; cayenne, black and red pepper, natures seasoning, Italian blend, onion powder, garlic powder, salt. Following a recommendation from another rater, I switched the tomato juice for canned diced toms in juice, to keep close to the 46 oz tomato juice, I added a 28 oz can of diced and 16 oz canned of toms and greed chilies. Cooked it in the slow cooker for aboot 10-12 hours. We had 7 for dinner and there was NOTHING left. Add some cheddar and fritos for a filling meal. Will definetly be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley Dawg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this chili and my husband raved about it! I made a few changes...I realized that I only had a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and no tomato juice so I used a suggestion from another reviewer and added bloody mary mix about the size of the tomato sauce can. I also added a can of tomatoes chili style and sauteed the ground beef with onions and garlic first. Have definitely saved this to my recipe box! Thanks George!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tw0810

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seffner, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
OMG! This is GREAT Chili! From reading the reviews I decided to make a couple of changes. First I traded the tomato juice for bloody Mary mix, one bottle. Then since my wife is not a fan of green peppers. I trade that for two ingredients. Fire roasted chili peppers, 10oz. and 10 oz. of cooked green cactus, both drained. This will definitely be saved and cooked again. Thank you George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Awesome chili! Great flavor, nice texture and very simple. My teenage sons LOVED it! I adjusted to make with 3 lbs ground beef. I followed most of this recipe to a T. I added a little color with switching up the beans with 1 can light, dark kidney beans, 1 can northern, 1 can black beans.. I also used what I had in house and used diced with juice instead of tomato juice. I also make it into chili mac with cooking elbow noodles and keep them both in separate crockpots for a self serve saturday. A little cheese or sour cream and it's a meal! This is a keeper in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States