It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This recipe was delicious! Very easy to make and was spicy and sweet all at the same time. I followed others recommendations and used 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar and think that gave it the sweetness. I served to very picky chili lovers and all of them asked for my recipe. Will definitely make again, but may use less juice and add tomatoes to make it a little more hearty vs. soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
AMAZING!! I made it on the stove top and it came out perfect. About 2 hours of cook time and I left the cover off for the last 30 min of cook time to thicken it up. My modifications were: -substituted tomato juice for diced tomatoes -cooked the onions in with ground beef -added 2 tblsp of brown sugar (instead if white sugar) -tripled all seasoning EXCEPT chili powder & Cayenne pepper -added some raw mushrooms Came out the perfect spiciness. My almost max level and my hubby's mild level. Lots of flavor and is a nice hearty stew. Next time ill add some more green pepper and that's about it. Excellent recipe. Love love love it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I think excellent recipe to cook especially when it's cold:my husband and kids love this dish and I will be cooking this dish more often and it does not take all day to cook either:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Love it, add some rotel diced tomatoes, a bit more chili, some chipotle smoked sausage and it was a hit. This is a for sure keeper. My husband loves it. Thanks George ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.RahnG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Good chili. I only used 32oz. of tomato juice, 16 oz. of tomato sauce and one 15 oz. can of chili tomatoes since I like a thick chili. I also added an extra can of pinto beans. It was great-not too spicy but had a good flavor. The wife even had seconds, which is rare for a chili meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Izshtar6
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is my first time making chili. I read some of the reviews but decided I'd stick as close as I could to the recipe. I loved it as is! The only thing is I didn't have tomato juice, I had vegetable juice, so I did add a few small tomatoes and only about 28 oz of the juice, I like my chili to be a little thick. I cooked mine in a slow cooker for 8 and a half hours and then I turned it to high for another thirty minutes without the lid for it to thicken up. Loved it! I will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Great chilli, made it for a Halloween party in a crockpot (cooking on low for about eight hours), and it was gone within the hour. We reduced the beef (ground sirloin) to 1.5 pounds and added one extra can of kidney beans, and all the comments I received were that it was perfect ration of meat to beans (if you like things really meaty, leave the ratio as written). I doubled all the spices and upped the sugar to 3T of brown sugar. I left out the green pepper because I didn't have one around, and it wasn't missed. For the tomato portion, I'd imagine nearly anything you have in the fridge would work, including salsa. I used four ripe garden tomatoes (from our very last harvest), chopped, and 1 can of tomato paste diluted with 4 cans water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I had never made red chili before and was a little surprised and dubious that it was all tomato based. I took a leap based on the ratings and I'm glad I did. The family enjoyed it for dinner and a couple of lunches afterwards. The fact that it is in the crockpot only adds to this great starter chili recipe. Watch the spice if you are sensitive to heat as my daughter is. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielleDes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
made this the other night, with a few changes due to lack of ingredients on hand. Omitted the tomato juice and sub 2 diced fresh tomatoes. Also subbed chili powered for hot sauce (franks red hot) used amount called for. Didn't have the time to slow cook it, and it came out amazing! definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evelyn
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
It was ok. I don't know not as tasty as I was hoping it would be. I'll have to check other recipes to see how they are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,901) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States