It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I'm from NM, so I tailored recipe to our local taste: added garlic; 4oz chopped jar/canned green chili, used small diced pork pieces instead of ground beef [browned/drained], & coarsely chopped celery. Omitted the tomato juice, but added ~24oz of can chopped tomatoes in green chilies w it's juices; 1/2 small can of tomato PASTE. Added only half the amount of tomato sauce in the recipe. Also added 1 can of BLACK beans [rinsed/drained]. 1hr before serving I added 4oz can sweet corn and 1/2c diced zucchini w/skins on. To serve, I topped with chopped fresh cilantro, diced fresh avocado and a dollop of sour cream. Served w JIFFY corn bread made with added green chili & sour cream to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This was SOO easy and came out PERFECT!! It was the first time making chili for my family and so I was a little worried. I went to the store but could not find Cayenne pepper anywhere !!, so I did some looking and found that using 4 drops, (NOT SHAKES, DROPS) of Tabasco was a perfect substitute for the cayenne pepper. Like I said, came out perfect. Not too spicy and definitely not bland either. My whole family started asking the very next day when I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This is the "Wendys" chili recipe that is so easy to make. I have made it numerable times. My son always adds lots of hot sauce! I always add garlic to any chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
instead of tomato juice and tomato sauce, I used salsa right out of the jar, and you can use mild or hot or whatever heat you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I adjust the portion size for my family of 4 and take it easy on the chili powder cuz we like it less spicy but its one of our favorites, for cold weather especially!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Bragole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Excellent Chili Recipe. We have small children so we left out the cayenne pepper and it was still very good. With BEANS just the way Chili should be!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corey C. Caughron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Kind of had to adapt and improvise on this one. My wife doesn't like onions or garlic so I left those out. I used 1/2 the quantity of ground beef, 1/2 the amount of tomato juice and 1/2 of the above amount of chilI powder. I added 1 can (540 ml) of Mexican chili seasoned diced tomatoes. Slow cooked for 9 hours while away at work and came home to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
A delicious recipe with a bit of a kick! My substitutions included a smidgen extra cayenne pepper. a can of black beans instead of the pinto beans, and instead of the tomato sauce I used a can of the stewed tomatoes with green chilies. I brought it to share with friends and it was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Boucher

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This chili recipe is one of the best and simplest to make, and it is tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This is a good base recipe to be used for customization. As is, it's bland and spiceless, like a thick spaghetti sauce with beans. The texture is nice, so adding spice is a must as well as your prefered veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,980) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States