It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I make a vegan version of this that's delicious. I use all of the same seasonings but double up on everything but the chili powder and cayenne (as noted in another review). Replace the beef with beef replacement crumbles. I like a chunkier, thicker chili so I also replace the tomato juice with 2 cans of diced tomatoes. I add in a little vegan worcestershire, a dash of liquid smoke, a can of black beans (makes it three bean chili) and sometimes a bag of frozen corn. It's delicious every time for a healthier version of this chili for vegans and non vegans alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Made a double batch and off I went to the party. Easy to make. Great taste. Everyone raved about this wonderful chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
All 10 servings was gone before i could try some of it, but i was told it was amazing!!! I followed some of the other reviews and didn't add the tomato juice but did add in a can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Great base recipe. Used diced tomatoes instead of tomato juice. Cooked on the stove, I doubled the amount of cayenne and chili powder, I also seasoned the meat with garlic powder, onion powder, and seasoned salt. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRIL R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Love this recipe! I've been making this for years. I changed it slightly as suggested by other reviewers by using brown sugar instead of white and used Rotel and diced tomatoes instead of tomato juice. I've made this chili on the stove top and also in the crockpot. Both come out awesome! This is the only chili recipe I use and friends ask for the recipe when they have it! Very easy to make. It's awesome! Thanks, George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This chili is amazing! My husband and I are on a "healthy kick" so I made it with ground turkey (which I am not usually a fan of...at all) and it was wonderful. I can only imagine how good it would be with beef! 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
As others have mentioned, chili is one of those things that everyone has different ideas about. For me, this chili was just OK. Too much liquid in general and too tomatoey for my taste. I think I would have liked it better without the tomato sauce. I prefer a thicker, spicier chili with more emphasis on the flavor of the meat, beans and spices and less on tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
The first time I made the a few weeks ago, I was out of onions, so I added in a dry onion soup mix. Bad idea! It was too salty. I made it again for a church chili cook-off, this time with real onions, and so far looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
We made it exactly as written with the minor change of omitting the cayenne. (My husband doesn't like spicy.) Very good. Easy and we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Great ! Family loved it, I used 3 lbs of ground turkey not 2lbs of ground beef, and extra cayenne pepper and half spoon of garlic and toped it with shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States