Italian Zucchini Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Great recipe. I only made a few changes. My zucchini are large. So I used 1 large zucchini and cut into 1" slices, then cut the slices into 4 pieces. 1 TBSP of salt is too much so I salt and peppered the pieces. I sauteed 1 sliced vidalia onion in olive oil. I mixed 1 TBSP of basil and 2 minced garlic cloves in a can of diced tomatoes. When the onion was soft, I added the zucchini and tomatoes. Cooked over low-medium heat for 20-25 minutes. Stirring occasionally. Then sprinkled with generous amount of parmesan. (probably 1/4 - 1/2 cup) Mixed all together and cooked another 5 min. Not only is it good that night, but left overs are just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This was fantastic! I made it as described, using vidalia onions and adding freshly crushed garlic from 2 cloves. I served it over linguine and it was a hit - even my 12 yr son loved it! I've made it with chunks of Italian Turkey Sausage and served over rice, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I have made this before. It is so yummy! You can also put all your ingredients in foil and cook on the BBQ for about 20 minutes. Also try with your favorite spaghetti sauce instead of the tomatoes and definately add some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This was the first time the family has had zucchini. Someone gave a bag full of them to my husband, so I had to look up a recipe for them, and I'm glad this is the one I chose! As one other reviewer had mentioned, I only used enough olive oil to properly saute the onions. I didn't have any italian seasoning, so I added some basil, salt, pepper, and garlic salt. I didn't measure the seasonings, just added to my liking. I also didn't have a can of diced tomatos so I added some tomatoe sauce and I cut up some fresh tomatoes. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This was really good! Being a confirmed tweaker, I added garlic, some crushed red pepper and used basil rather than Italian seasoning since I had some fresh. Yum! Further proof that good food doesn't have to be complicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I was looking for a zucchini/tomato recipe I remembered my mother making... this is it! It is delicious. The only chages I made were cutting back on the salt (I only added a few shakes) and added a little fresh ground pepper. Also, I didn't use as much oil, as suggested by another review, I just used enough to saute the onions. Love, love, love it, and easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I have made a similar dish (sans sugar) only, instead of serving over rice, I used the zucchini combination instead of meat to make lasagna. Even my kids loved it, and we're not vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Super dish! The perfect way to get picky kids (and husbands) to eat their veggies! Used a side, but would be wonderful over pasta or rice. I used one yellow squash and one zucchini, and substituted fresh oregano and basil from the garden for the italian spices. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New York, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was really easy and yummy. I used summer squash instead of zucchini, and sauteed garlic w/the onions, threw in a basil leaf with the tomatoes and it all went!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACOAKLEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I thought this was really good. I didn't use quite as much salt as called for and I used fresh herbs instead of dried. It made a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States