Italian Wine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
thank you sooooooo much!!! I have searched for more years than I care to reveal. this is like bringing my Nana back to me.... Hugs to you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
this is and old recipe that my grandma made for years her mother past this down to her and she past it my mom and my mom gave it to me the only thing differant is that she makes hers with shortening not oil so that the dough is not to wet and fryes up nice she has this old ceader board that has riges in it and rolls them like a cavatt i hope that the people that has had a hard time with this recipe will try it one more time with the shortening good luck and happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Please do not add water. Just bring oil and wine to a boil, add a pinch of salt to flour and mix with oil and wine mixture, fry and coat with honey. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
We edited the recipe to include the oil and address the many issues that users have had with the amount of water in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Thank you, I have been searching for this recipe for 7 years. It was a Christmas tradition to make Italian Wine cookies since I was a child. This one of the easiest and most deliciousest cookies I know. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Thank you, again. Tejani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
these were much better the day after I made them. The honey needs to soak into the cookie, otherwise they taste too bitter. My grandmother from Italy used to make these around the holidays, and my dad said they taste just like hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
These cookies are interesting and I couldn't eat just one! Just the right amount of sweetness and wine. I'm going to try them out at a party with the appetizers. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I've been looking for this recipe for a while now, but I'm confused on the the amount of oil. The recipe calls for 2 1/2 cups of veg. oil and then a quart for frying, but it doesn't tell you when to add the 2 1/2 cups of veg. oil. Was there a typo or am I really blind?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is a super huge recipe. I make a large batch of dough w/ 1 cup oil, 1 cup wine, 1 cup water and about 6-8 cups of flour until it workable. Also add 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. cloves and the finely chopped orange peel of 3 large oranges. Fry them then honey them. I like to add a couple of Tbsp of sugar to the sugar to form a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WendyMami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Awful. I cut down the water to less than 1/2 a cup, and still had to knead in more flour to make the dough workable. The worst part though, was that it *exploded* in the hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States