Italian White Bean and Pancetta Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have made this soup several times now and I do like it as written so I gave it 4 stars. You customize to suit your own tastes over time so here are mine which everyone seems to like. Use the olive oil.. I found when I did not use it I ended up putting a little drizzle on mine to serve it. I use the fresh sage, then about a half teaspoon of ground sage along with about a half teaspoon of sweet marjoram. I reduce the beans to 3 cans since I prefer more of a broth in mine. I would also recommend using a parmesan rind in the soup. I do not like how swollen and mushy the shells get when you reheat the soup, so I now use ditalini pasta uncooked directly into the soup about ten minutes before you are ready to serve. I serve mine with fresh shredded parmesan, a dash of fresh parsley and some bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I halved the recipe since those in my household aren't really soup eaters (much to my dismay) and I have to say, I really like this soup! I will definitely make it again! I added a little more sage and pancetta, since I really like both, and topped it with Parmesan cheese. I skipped the parsley but I think I'll try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peanut's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is good but not a major wow, maybe a 4.5. This is what I'd called a savory sort of flavor - it is good but could still use a little something, perhaps a bit of white pepper. It's reasonably easy to make and good on a cold day. (Never mind the date - I made this a while ago. :-)) I've never bought pancetta before - very expensive. It almost seemed like a mild version of bacon, and once cooked in the soup I doubt I could tell the difference and bacon is less expensive. This did make just about 8 bowl-size servings for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I love this recipe! Pork and Sage go so well together. I used smoked ham because I felt it might be less fatty than the pancetta. Im sure its good regardless. I did add what carrots I had (two small), and I used two cans of canelli and one can of great northern beans as thats what I had. I did not use salt but added garlic salt instead. And half way through simmering I took about 3 cups of beans/onions, etc and blended to achieve a thicker soup. It wasnt thick enough so I simmered with the lid off for a bit. Holy Cow this is good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This recipe was delicious as written. I halved the recipe, but did add another cup of broth. It was slightly salty but I think had I used low sodium broth it would have fixed that problem. I have never used pancetta, and I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Wonderful-made my soup with dry bean after I soaked them overnight (and cooked the soup in the crockpot all day till the beans were soft.) Sauted the vegetables in the bacon fat instead of the olive oil-then drained the vegetables and added them to the beans in the crockpot-added the bacon to the top of the soup before serving. Cooked the pasta seperately and added before serving as well to avoid the pasta soaking up all the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I used left over ham finely chopped and this was delicious! Thanks for the great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
4 stars because i modified slightly. Pancetta is expensive so i used a smoked cervelat salami, diced and fried instead. Great smokey/salty flavor, less expensive. It would be 5 stars if i followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
4 stars only because I didn't follow the recipe as written, but I like the version I made. I skipped the pasta and celery, and used regular yellow onion as that's all I had on hand. Instead I added diced red potatoes, carrots, and chicken (hubby needed more for dinner), and I only had half a can of chicken broth left, so I added water and the drippings from the baked chicken (20min on 400) and sea salt. WOW! We ate this wonderful dish with cornbread and followed up with a lowfat pear crisp. One of the best fall meals. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Amazing, hearty, and healthy! Added ground chicken and pureed (a.k.a disguised for my 3 kids!)all the beans! They all ate it w/ parm cheese on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States