Italian Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These are good! I like that there are no dairy ingredients in this recipe. I do think the rolls are bit big, though. Next time I'll split this into 36 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These rolls came out awesome!! I used 3 cups whole wheat and 3 cups unbleached flour to start, but it was a little sticky, so I added more whole wheat flour (probably 3/4 - 1 cup.) I used my stand mixer to mix and knead. I made 8 large sandwich (sub) rolls. I baked them for approximately 20 mins @ 350. I will make all of my own sub rolls from now on, and will use this for dinner rolls, too. I might try to leave out one eggs, as it tasted a little "eggy" to me. Great recipe! Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I love the subtle flavor the olive oil adds to these light and tender wheat rolls. I made the recipe exactly as stated using a high quality, first cold press olive oil, but I did halve the recipe. The dough is sticky so expect to add about ¼ cup of flour during the kneading process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Loved the flavor of these. The olive oil really stands out. I followed the recipe closely, only using all purpose for the bread flour. Nice texture and hearty. Perfect as soup/sandwich rolls. I made some as bread sticks as well, brushed with an egg wash and sprinkled with garlic salt and cornmeal. Those were the best. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Very good wheat rolls with an Italian twist. I will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is an amazing recipe. I halved the recipe, used all whole wheat flour and made 6 larger sized sandwich buns. I let them rise for almost two hours and they turned out great! This is the only recipe I will ever use from now on for all my rolls and buns. Will even try making loaves with it. So light and full of flavor. Thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Delicious! Very soft and tender. Didn't have quite enough olive oil, so used about 1/2 canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was an exceptional easy recipe to prepare. My novice daughter made them and they were delicious...better than store bought! We even made some with just white bread flour and they, too, were delicious! We, both, will make them again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Malikas
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
The rolls turned out ok, a little dense but the dough was very sticky and hard to work with, I will try to do this again but i would reduce the amount of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Fantastic! Very soft and fluffy. I really like that they are made with olive oil. To make them even more nutritious, I did an even mix of whole wheat and white flour (i.e. 3cup/3cup); next time I will do 4c whole wheat and 2c white to see if that works. Wonderful rolls!!! My new favorite recipe. UPDATE: I've had great results making these using 4c whole wheat / 2c white! Still very light and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States