Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Wonderful soup recipe! I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs in the meatballs, and substituted approximately 25% lean ground beef for sausage in the meatballs (75% sausage, 25% ground beef). I baked the meatballs for 20 minutes in a preheated 350 degree oven. I followed the recipe exactly as written except for that small change and the soup turned out great. Rave reviews from all at the potluck luncheon I prepared the soup for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I have a TNT wedding soup recipe, but thought I would give this a try since I had chorizo sausage in the freezer. For the meatballs I used 1/2 lb ground sirloin and 2 links chorizo. Since the chorizo is pretty fatty I only used about 1/3 cup breadcrumbs, and added some parm to the mix. These formed beautifully. A little time consuming sauteing the veg, removing, browning the meatballs, and preparing the orzo separately, but the flavor of this soup was outstanding. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Oh yeah baby..good stuff! I "accidently" made the meatballs quite spicy; was short about 1/4 C. on the regular bread crumbs and remembered that I had some spicy Japanese panko bread crumbs, so I added those. Pretty good mistake! After that, I decided not to add the spice to the broth, thought it would be too much flavor "fighting" and I think it turned out just fine that way. With the spinach, I cut the stems off and stacked several leaves together, rolled them up cigar fashion and cut them into ribbons. A little extra work, but I think spinach looks nicer that way in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Excellent soup recipe! I made this exactly as written and it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great tasting soup. I used a bit more spinach than called for. Due to the meatballs it was a filling soup and can be used as an entree with a load of home baked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Excellent! Takes some time to make but its well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lara423

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Eating it as I type,Amazing!!! I used ground turkey instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great soup for those chilly days. I subbed ditalini for orzo since that was the smallest pasta I had on hand and added some salt to taste. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I have had better Italian Wedding Soups...needed more flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p and q

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I halved the meatball recipe along with the chicken stock and orzo, yet kept everything else the same. This made for a flavorful, very traditional Italian Wedding Soup, restaurant worthy. Thank you, Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States