Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Wonderful soup recipe! I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs in the meatballs, and substituted approximately 25% lean ground beef for sausage in the meatballs (75% sausage, 25% ground beef). I baked the meatballs for 20 minutes in a preheated 350 degree oven. I followed the recipe exactly as written except for that small change and the soup turned out great. Rave reviews from all at the potluck luncheon I prepared the soup for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I have a TNT wedding soup recipe, but thought I would give this a try since I had chorizo sausage in the freezer. For the meatballs I used 1/2 lb ground sirloin and 2 links chorizo. Since the chorizo is pretty fatty I only used about 1/3 cup breadcrumbs, and added some parm to the mix. These formed beautifully. A little time consuming sauteing the veg, removing, browning the meatballs, and preparing the orzo separately, but the flavor of this soup was outstanding. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was fantastic. I added double the aount of spinach and wow, good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valley Park, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Oh yeah baby..good stuff! I "accidently" made the meatballs quite spicy; was short about 1/4 C. on the regular bread crumbs and remembered that I had some spicy Japanese panko bread crumbs, so I added those. Pretty good mistake! After that, I decided not to add the spice to the broth, thought it would be too much flavor "fighting" and I think it turned out just fine that way. With the spinach, I cut the stems off and stacked several leaves together, rolled them up cigar fashion and cut them into ribbons. A little extra work, but I think spinach looks nicer that way in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I doubled the recipe, but kept the spices the same and even reduced the fennel seed to 1 tsp. Two tsp. seemed like it would overpower the soup. I also added extra veggies and used regular sausage instead of Italian sausage since the kids don't like Italian sausage. It turned out to be quite a hit, and the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Eating it as I type,Amazing!!! I used ground turkey instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Love this recipe! I made it last night and my husband loved it. The best part is that I made it gluten free. Yum! To make it gluten free, I used gluten free bread crumbs for the meatballs. Then I didn't add the orzo but gf elbow noodles instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Bares Argue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Buchanan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Loved it! I did the meatballs with 1/4 90% ground beef though. Hleped cut the grease a little. Got a lot of compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Derby, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
It would get 5 stars, but I used a different recipe for the meatballs to cut down on the fat. The soup itself is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My husband made this last night for supper and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States