Italian Wedding Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made this yesterday for lunch and just polished off the last bowl, ending with today's lunch. This soup was super yummy! I love Italian Wedding Soup but have never made it. This IWS recipe gave me great confidence! I made mini mini meatballs. I also used about 1/2 small bag frozen spinach and then thawed it the microwave before adding to the soup so I could monitor the amounts. I added 1/2 small box orzo pasta, also prepared separately before adding to the broth. Cooking the meatballs in the both gave them such great flavor. I think I only used about .25 lb of ground beef, making about 25 mini meatballs. The egg parm mixture ( also halved) made the soup appear so appetizing, a very nice addition! I had no idea this is how original wedding soup was made. Keep in mind what your family enjoys most about soup ... do they like more broth ... more pasta? This soup is a versatile recipe that you can make to your families liking. I served with a crusty french loaf. Thank you so much SHECOOKS2 for sharing your grandmothers wonderful recipe as well as others that reviewed this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinglife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
very easy to make and simply delicious!! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I like the idea of Parmesan and egg mix. However, I cant help adding onion, garlic, carrots, and pasta in the soup for color and texture. Precooked meatballs will do as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made a few changes I used spinach instead of escarole, I used all fresh ingredients and replaced 1 cup of chicken broth with 1 cup of beef broth also I added 1 cup of pepperini pasta at the same time that I added the meat balls. It came out great my wife devoured it all there were no left overs will definetly make again and again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! My father's family is Italian and I only have a few family recipes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! I married into an Italian family and now I'm asked to bring the soup for every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I have never bothered to review a recipe before but this was so good I just had to. I was really skeptical of this because I'd never had wedding soup before with egg in it like this but I was really suprised at how good it tasted. I tweaked the proportions just a bit because I thought it was way too many meatballs and just a bit too much escarole. I did add some orzo pasta too it, sorry I just love the pasta. This was just fantastic. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I was a little worried about adding the egg at the end, but I did and it was SOOOOO good! This will be my go to recipe for now on for soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was so easy and super yummy! I added garlic and onion to my meatballs and used kale instead escarole (couldn't remember which one I needed when at the store). My 11 year old helped with the meatballs, was super easy and quick. I also added the egg/parmesean mixture before adding the meatballs and kale back in. Kale tasted wonderful in it and I think I will use from now on. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I liked this recipe a lot. My six year old son went back for seconds. Even my picky brother liked it. I used spinach because it was easy to pick up at the store, used some home made chicken broth that I had left over from something else and I added acini de pepe pasta. I'm sure it'd have been good without it as well, but we're a pasta family so I'll always make it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States